Not Quite Nutella

Back in my pre-vegan days, one of my favorite guilty pleasures was the creamy, chocolately, hazelnutty spread known as Nutella.

I was first introduced to Nutella by Mrs. Mays, my high school French teacher. Then I rediscovered it a few years ago when I needed something to take to a party to share and the rest was history.

I was in love. I ate Nutella on bread, in oatmeal, mixed in with dry cereal, many many times. Check out this picture from February 2009:

But as much as I love Nutella, when I decided to go vegan in October 2009, I had to say goodbye. If only Nutella didn’t contain milk…it might be the only thing I really “miss” since giving up animal products.

I’m too lazy to make a homemade version myself so I’ve been curious to know if there is a vegan-friendly Nutella-like product on the market.

Then I found this:

I had seen the Justin’s Chocolate Nut Butters raved about on the blogs of both Heather and Matt, two of my favorites. So when I found it at Whole Foods a couple of weeks ago, I decided I had to see for myself.

I probably could’ve picked something better to try it on (like some French bread maybe?) but I drizzled it over my pumpkin oatbran on Friday morning. You know how I love pumpkin!

Now, don’t get me wrong or let the title fool you. This was a delicious breakfast and it left me full for hours!

But it wasn’t Nutella. Not quite anyway.

I’m starting to wonder if it’s just been so long since I’ve had the stuff that I don’t even remember what it tastes like? The Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut butter had a good flavor, but reminded me more of Dark Chocolate Dreams PB than Nutella.

It’s got to be the skim milk (note: Nutella also contains whey). Even the generic Kroger-brand version of the stuff is good. But I don’t do dairy anymore. Not even for Nutella.

Oh well. Perhaps I will give it another shot in the future on something other than pumpkin oatbran. What do you think?

Should I break down and try to recreate the stuff myself? Anybody got a recipe?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on September 26, 2010, in products, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I actually think it is better than Nutella. Nutella is so sickeningly sweet for me!

  2. You are right. Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter is not Nutella. I LOVE it, but in its own unique way. I haven’t had Nutella in quite awhile, mostly because I don’t think I can be trusted with it in my house…I have no idea how it would be re-created, but let me know if you figure it out :)

  3. http://bittersweetblog.wordpress.com/2006/08/20/not-tella/
    I trust Hannah!

    Veganomicon also has a “Not-tella” recipe. I haven’t tried it, but I also totally trust the Terry+Isa team.

  4. I would totally try making some of your own! I bet it’d be good.

  5. you might be able to get this stuff called chocoreale at health food stores or bigger supermarkets:

    http://www.shopmania.com/shopping~online-food~buy-chocoreale-organic-duo-chocolate-spread-hazelnut-white~p-5575652.html

    there’s different ones. the one with the purple lid (“praliné” i think) tastes pretty much exactly like nutella. i also love the “duo” one i linked to.

    hope that helped :)

  6. i still have a packet of the same one i need to use up. been sitting in my fridge for ages- why havent i opened it yet!!! <3 MMMMMMM i love how u drizzled it on <3

  7. I haven’t tried Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut Butter yet. I actually I LOVE Justin’s Maple Almond Butter though, that stuff rocks! My husband is a total Nutella addict. He’d eat Nutella on a croissant for breakfast every day if he could. I just have it every once in a while.

  8. just glad you’re sticking around, sarah! you should come over some night and i’ll show you how to make a REALLY good homemade pizza.

  9. oops commented on the wrong post … sorry! lol

  10. I tried Justin’s didn’t like it much. Nothing really compares to Nutella. It’s so creamy. Although, I did come across another brand that had chocolate and hazelnuts in it at another health food store near where I live, so I know another brands exists. If there are other health food stores around, you might try checking them out. Who knows you might get lucky.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

