Tofurky Pizza and Blog Evolution

I have to admit, this thing has been in my freezer for quite some time.

I was really excited when I heard that the vegan Tofurky Pizza finally came out and were being carried at my local Whole Foods Market. The best selling point for this pizza is the Daiya cheese, which is the best vegan cheese (for pizza) on the market, in my opinion. I tried it on a homemade pizza once and it was delicious.

I didn’t care much for the high price of this item (around $7) but you have to factor convenience into the cost. This would feed me for at least two meals and only took 12 minutes to cook in the oven. No time spent on preparation or chopping veggies for toppings.

I decided to get the Italian “Sausage” and Fire Roasted Veggie because a plain cheese pizza just sounded boring to me and the only other choice was pepperoni. I need my veggies! Plus, this may be the only time I try this product so I had to go all out!


The left side got bent a little bit from being shoved around in my freezer for several weeks.  But other than that slight defect, this looked pretty good!

The Good:

  • I liked that the crust was thin and got a little crispy thanks to my cooking it directly on the oven rack.
  • The vegetables were delicious!
  • Short cooking time and easy to cut with my pizza cutter.

And the Not-So-Good:

  • Even though this pizza tasted decent, it probably still isn’t worth $7.
  • There was not nearly enough Daiya cheese on this pizza.
  • The Italian sausage was just okay, I expected it to be a bit more flavorful.

Verdict?

I would probably buy this product again, perhaps another variety, if I need to get a vegan pizza to go and the store I am at is all out of Amy’s No Cheese Roasted Vegetable Pizza. The sauce they use on that pizza is so good, you don’t even need non-dairy cheese.

I had the leftovers for lunch today and I have to stick by my “just okay” review. But I’m glad I finally tried it!

Have any of you tried the Tofurky pizza? Did you like it?

Blog Evolution

I have not been blogging a whole lot the past few months and it’s had me doing a lot of thinking regarding this blog and it’s future. By the way, I’m happily taking suggestions on name changes. Ha.

I feel like in many ways, I have moved away from what this blog was originally intended for (an accountability/food journal) and that’s okay. A lot has changed in the past two and a half years that I’ve been blogging here.

But what hasn’t changed is that I still love to write and share the things I enjoy with people, which is what I want to continue to do here. I love this community!

While my weight loss is a big part of my “story” and a reason for blogging, I don’t want to focus on that so much anymore. I still struggle sometimes to maintain my weight but I’m in a good place now and have another system of accountability that is working well for me now.

I also went vegan more than a year ago and so much about that has changed my life and my views on a lot of things regarding food, health and other topics.

So anyway, please be patient with me as I work out the kinks and decide how best to move this blog forward. And if you have any advice, I’ll at least consider it ;-)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 13, 2010, in blogging, Dinner, products and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. No advice from me.Just encouragement to keep blogging!

  2. Hi Sarah! Maybe you could set some goals like cooking one recipe from every recipe book you own? Or maybe you could do research on veganism and talk about that? I’m sure you’ll find something :)

    • Thanks Rachel! Yes, I would really love to do a “Julie and Julia” type thing only with my vegetarian cookbooks. I want this to be fun! :) And new thoughts/ideas about veganism are always good too. Especially since it seems to be more mainstream these days with certain celebrities trying the diet.

  3. Nice post. Everytime I try buying this pizza I really cannot. It is too pricey for me. I actually enjoy making my own. If you ever get a chance, the sausage is seitan by Uptons a great company. If I get a coupon I might try the pizza but it seriously makes me hurt that my budget goes on a $7pizza.

    • Thanks Noelle! Yeah, if you enjoy making your own, I honestly wouldn’t bother. I appreciate the recommendation, I will have to look for that seitan sausage!

  4. Thanks for the review! I would love to hear about how veganism has changed your life:)

  5. I’m not a fan of the Tofurky pizza. It’s way overpriced, too small to feed my family of four and tasted like old school Totinos frozen pizza, which I never liked. Needless to say, I was hugely disappointed considering I LOVE Tofurky and I LOVE Daiya.

    • Haha, I used to like the old school Totinos pizzas but mainly because they were CHEAP and this is not. You are right though, they could’ve done a lot better considering the companies involved.

  6. I have seen the Tofurkey pizza but the price tag has kept me from buying it. I think I would probably feel like you did if I ate it.

    I like your blog name, but I also have a geeky love of alliteration. I don’t think the title implies weight loss. Anyway, that’s just my 2c.

  7. Dude I just had that pizza too! I agree about the sausage, I expected it to be spicier or something…but I loved it! I think I’m just so happy to have a vegan “cheese” pizza that I don’t make myself!

  8. Thanks for the review…I am going to pick your brain when lent comes around…I need some suggestions for alternatives.

    I am so happy you found a good accountability system ::wink::

  9. I guess I’m the only one that liked the Tofurky Pizza. I bought the pepperoni one last week and was afraid to try it. I hate most frozen pizzas, but this one wasn’t bad at all. I was pleasantly surprised. I mean I wouldn’t say it was the greatest thing in the world, of course a homemade pizza would taste WAY better. But if you’re strapped for time or just don’t feel like cooking it’s definitely not the worst thing you could eat lol. $7 is cheap compared to the $9 I had to pay. Yikes!

    • Eek, $9! I did like it and would definitely eat it again if I were in a pinch. Better to eat expensive okay-tasting vegan pizza than so many other things out there. :)

  10. The main reason I stopped eating animals (poultry, pork and beef – I still eat seafood occasionally and dairy products regularly) is because the idea of eating animals grosses me out big time. For this reason I kind of stay clear of the “fake meats” because some of them just taste too much like the real thing for me!

    I am constantly redefining my blog from personal life blog, to young professional blog, to health/fitness/food blog. Just let your blog be about YOU and the place YOU are at in your life :-)

  1. Pingback: Your Freezer or Your Front Door? | Randal Putnam Loves to Pedal

  2. Pingback: Blogging in 2011 | See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

