2010 Kentuckiana Start! Heart Walk

On September 25th, I participated in the Kentuckiana Start! Heart Walk benefitting the American Heart Association. This wasn’t a race for me but it was a pretty cool event that I felt was worth sharing with you here.

It was a chilly morning and I parked a little ways away, which allowed me to walk past the baseball stadium. I can’t believe my phone takes pictures this good, better than my camera even.

203 
Since we were walking and not running, we brought our 4-legged friends to join us. They need their exercise too! Meet Suzie (my dog, the Beagle) and her friend Alf.

209 
Alf also found his “brother from another mother.” Ha!

204
University of Louisville football coach Charlie Strong was there to deliver the kick-off speech. Both of his parents passed away as the result of heart and cardiovascular diseases, so obviously he is passionate about this cause. He also pointed out the survivors, who were wearing red hats. I was once again counting my blessings.

206
As we walked downtown and across the 2nd Street bridge (I believe the walk was around 3 miles), I took a lot of pictures of things we passed by, including the new KFC Yum! Center, which if you live in Louisville, you either find really exciting or really disappointing. I can’t decide.

210
214

Going across the bridge to Indiana!

211
213

And one last one because it turned out cool and totally not how I intended.

212 
Hope you enjoyed this little recap! Obviously, I am passionate about running but I also enjoy a nice walk or anything that gets people to be active, especially if it means supporting a great cause.

Heart Disease is still the #1 killer of both men and women here in the United States. Let’s do what we can to make sure us and our loved ones don’t go down that path.

For more information, check out the American Heart Association webpage.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 23, 2010, in Walking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awwww suzie is such a cutie!!!! It looks like such a great walk!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

