Beloved Seitan

Seitan is one of those foods I didn’t try for the longest time because I wasn’t really sure I needed to. I mean, I already had tofu. Then I tried tempeh and was very impressed. And I had no idea how to cook it.

But when I dined at Ramsi’s Cafe on the World over the summer (one of many times) I decided to finally give this seitan (say-tan, not Satan, haha) a try.

139That’s a vegan seitan parmesan sandwich on cuban bread with roasted potatoes :)

I liked it so much that when I went back to Ramsi’s the next time, I tried the Jamaican seitan sandwich, which I posted about back in August.

I can’t really describe seitan, other than to say I find it just as delicious and versatile as tofu and tempeh. But I still have yet to purchase and cook any seitan myself at home. Maybe someday!

Have you ever had seitan? Do you cook with it at home? What are your favorite recipes to use it in?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 5, 2010, in Dinner, products and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hey Sarah –
    I like seitan enough as an occasional thing, but it seems to heavy for me to eat as often as I do tempeh and tofu. It DOES have the soy-free thing going for it, but people with gluten intolerancies must find seitan poison.
    I’ve made it myself boiled (Vegan with a Vengeance) and as a steamed sausage (my favorite incarnation – various internet recipes exist). It’s fun, but I find it a little less versatile than tofu or tempeh.

    • Thanks for the comment! You are right, people with gluten intolerance could not eat this, yikes. I may just end up eating it at restaurants and just sticking with tofu and tempeh at home. We’ll see :) Thanks for sharing!

  2. It’s taken me awhile to love seitan and I definitely eat in moderation because I try to eat wheat in moderation. My husband used it last week to make a vegan ‘reuben’ pizza and it was delish. I need to experiment with it more.

  3. I enjoy seitan, but I’ve only recently begun to make it at home. One of the first (intentionally) vegan meals I had at a restaurant was seitan and I was pretty much sold. Still haven’t found anything else quite like that, though. I do find that I eat smaller portions of seitan than tofu. Both of those sandwiches look good.

  4. Love it, but try to avoid wheat. Definitely one of the most versatile veggie meats, however, and a great source of protein.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

