Queen of Sheba

Confession: Up until about a month ago, I had never tried Ethiopian food.  So, I was not sure what to expect when us girls got together and went out to Queen of Sheba here in Louisville.

After the waiter tried to talk us into ordering things other than what we wanted (how many times did we have to tell him two of us don’t eat meat?) we settled on the Vegetarian Combo for the four of us to share. We also got talked into an appetizer but oh well, it was our first time there.

273 The Vegetarian Combo included salad, and a serving each of Misir wot (“Lentil stew simmered in onions, garlic seasoned with turmeric and herbs”), Atakilt (“Sliced cabbage, onions, and carrots cooked to perfection in a mild tomato sauce”) and Gomen wot (“Collard greens, onions and potatoes cooked to perfection with garlic in a mild sauce”).

The food was absolutely delicious. My favorite was definitely lentils but I actually really enjoyed the cabbage dish too. The best part is you don’t use forks, you dip into each thing with injera (Ethiopian flatbread, not pictured unfortunately).

I would definitely like to eat this food again.

But, I think we were all a little put off by the waiter. First, he kept trying to get us to order certain things he was promoting instead of listening to what we wanted and accommodating us. He also had a little trouble splitting up the bill, which is also when we found out he actually got us to order TWO appetizers when we thought it was only one. I think in the end, we all just gave up and paid whatever it said so we could get out of there.

Granted, it was rainy, we were starving, everybody has an “off” night, and he kept our drinks pretty full. So maybe we should try to go back sometime and hope we get a different experience.

But I definitely took a copy of the takeout menu for future reference ;-)

Queen of Sheba on Urbanspoon

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on November 8, 2010, in Dinner, restaurants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I have always wanted to try Ethiopian food! I better get on that ;)

  2. I love love love Queen of Sheba and always get the vegetarian combo, too. I have to say though, I’ve never had that experience with the wait staff or anything similar to that so don’t hold a grudge! Maybe he was just suggesting so many things since it was your first time? But then again, I’ve always had a female waitress. Anyway, now I’m seriously craving some Ethiopian!

    • Oh, I wouldn’t hold it against them forever ;-) I think going in next time, we’ll be more prepared in knowing what we want and perhaps get a different person to wait on us too. The food is really great and I think it is a very cute place too!

  3. I hate when waiters can turn a positive experience into a negative one…at least the food was good and maybe next time, he will have an “on” day…

    sidenote, I love when you get to eat with your hands hahaha

  4. Bummer on the waiter. I just tried Ethiopian for the first time and really enjoyed it, too. Looks like you got a lot more food than I did, though – ours had 4 different dishes, serves on injera. But it was reallly, really tasty!

  5. I’ve never tried Ethiopian food but that plate looks really good! I will have to try it one time :)

  6. It drives me absolutely nuts when waiters are like that. Suggestions are always welcomed but being pushy is not!

    That said, I’ve never tried Ethiopian and I really want to. I don’t know of any places near us though.

  7. I’ve been wanting to try Queen of Sheba. I actually even bought a Restaurant.com gift certificate… just haven’t made it yet. Now I really have to go try it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

