Blogging in 2011

Happy New Year!

I’m sure many of you would agree that it is good to have a new year to make some positive changes and to refocus on our life goals that we are working toward. I did not make any resolutions per se, but I am hoping to move away from some things I have been indulging in and move toward a few that would make my life more enjoyable. Think: Less TV/internet, more reading! :)

I’m also sure you’ve noticed I have not been blogging much lately. Things got kind of crazy over the summer and I just reached a point where maintaining a “normal” blogging schedule just wasn’t possible for me, mentally. While I have done a few posts here and there, I had started to wonder if I even wanted to do this anymore and if so, why? Thankfully, I do want to come back but things are going to change.

As I stated in my “blog evolution” post back in October, I don’t want to talk about my weight as much anymore. I lost 70 lbs in 2007 and have been able to maintain most of that. I know the journey is different for everyone but for me, maintenance has been harder than the initial loss. I go up 10 lbs or so every year and then get it back down eventually. So while I am working toward keeping my weight “regular” and maybe even losing a bit more, I don’t feel the need to discuss that here.

Also, like many fellow food bloggers have stated recently, the “food journal” type of posting is just not working for me. It is a chore to write those type of posts and that is not how it should be. Also, taking pictures of Clif bar wrappers over and over again is just not my idea of fun these days! I also have to admit that I don’t like reading these super long, wordy (or picture heavy) posts much either (unless I love you, and you know who you are, ha ha).

What I do want to share are my cooking experiences. Losing weight and gradually evolving my diet helped me see food in a new way and cooking has become fun for me. I am NOT a chef and not even that great of a cook but I can follow a recipe like no one’s business. I just need practice and more experimenting with new methods and ingredients in order to improve. I’m hoping the blog (and another opportunity I’ve been given recently) will inspire me to keep at it!

I also want to keep reviewing Louisville restaurants (or others I visit out of town) and post product reviews when I try something new. I may occasionally talk about veganism too as I learn more and experience new things in that area of my life.

I’m not sure how often I will be posting but most likely just when I get inspired or have the time to report on a new recipe I tried, or a new restaurant or product. Hopefully I will be posting at least once a week, but we will just have to wait and see.

But this is a FOOD BLOG. Not a weight loss blog, not a food journal. No routine, no schedule. Just food. :)

Thanks for the support!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 3, 2011, in blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Excited to see and read the changes!

  2. Change is good! Looking foward to the new changes

  3. A food blog? Sounds delicious! Let’s eat!!

    No, but seriously, glad you’re back girlie ;-)

  4. Whatever direction you decided to take…I WILL BE HERE READING! You have been such an inspiration to me and I have made so many changed in my life because of YOU! Love you chickie!

    • Aww, love you too! I can’t imagine what life would be like if I’d never started blogging and “met” such amazing people like yourself :) Thanks for always being in my corner!

  5. Hi Sarah! I took a blog break this year too and have the same feelings about my blog’s evolution. I know your blog will keep on being a great one! Happy 2011!

  6. I always enjoy your blog and this sounds like more of a good thing! I’m looking forward to reading along this year.

  1. Pingback: Blog. Read. Nap. | See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Why today is great | See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

