Why today is great

It’s true, I am one of those weird people who loves Mondays. To me, the beginning of the week is akin to a fresh start. It’s the start of a new week to focus on goals, accomplish tasks and get back to “regular life” after a busy weekend.

Since I am finding myself extra inspired on this particular Monday, I thought I would share with you how I already know today is a great day!

For starters, today is my best friend Courtney’s 31st birthday!

She’s gonna kill me for this one! :)

So happy we got to celebrate with her last night at a karaoke party! I’m no great singer but she has definitely inspired me to get out of my comfort zone and just have fun. One of the many reasons I am grateful to have her in my life :)

Speaking of parties, I had a rather indulgent weekend of birthday parties, baby showers, lots of cooking and no exercising. So much fun and totally worth it! And yet, when I got dressed this morning, I put on my smallest pair of pants and they still fit comfortably. Another reason that today is great! :)

Tonight, Josh and I are having dinner with friends whom we don’t get to spend enough time with these days. It is sure to be a rockin’ good time!

This picture is from 2007, that should tell us something, ha ha!

It will be great to catch up and fellowship with our friends over a nice meal. I will be making a very delicious spinach tomato & cucumber salad to take with us tonight. I just had to mention food since I declared this a food blog the other day, oops.

Lastly, it is quite possible that we are going to get snowed in at some point tomorrow. I am normally not a big fan of winter, but this year I have been learning how to take in all the seasons, not just the ones I prefer (read: every season BUT winter, ha).

It’s definitely an adjustment but it certainly makes the bitter cold and dark gloomy days more bearable. I’ve also caught myself observing the beauty of winter in nature and not just seeing the dead trees with no leaves.

Taken in our back yard

But just when I think I cannot take another freezing winter day, I remember that Spring and Summer will be here before we know it! Life is good :)

Now you tell me, why is today a great day for you?

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 10, 2011, in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Today is a great day for me because it’s a Snow Day!!!!!!! It never snows here, but it did last night! So I get to work from home. Still have to work, but now I can do laundry at the same time….guess I shouldn’t really get excited about doing laundry.

  2. Haha, loving the pictures! And HB to Courtney! Sounds like today is indeed going to be a good day;-) What a great way to start your week.

    We didn’t get any snow from last night’s system, but they are calling for it again tonight so we’ll see. The kids are hoping for a snow day tomorrow, but as for me, I’m over winter. Blech! I’m really not in the mood for any winter weather, but mother nature may have other ideas!

  3. Hey, thanks for the comment today. Yes, I’m excited about Boston. I hadn’t heard of carrotsncake.com, but I’ve been reading it this evening! Thanks for sharing! I’m also excited about today, because my doctor cleared me for getting another eye surgery done to get my vision closer to 20/20.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

