Gearing up for racing season

Hi friends! Holy heck, where has the time gone?

I still have a few race recaps to share with you that I participated in this past Fall and Winter, but a more pressing topic is that Spring racing season has arrived! This Saturday, I will be running in my 4th consecutive Anthem 5k, which holds a very special place in my heart…it was my first race ever.

I had just starting running in September of 2007 and built myself up to 30 minutes, then gradually started working on distance. In early March of 2008, I crossed my very first finish line as a runner. It was probably one of the proudest moments of my life, the first of many. It helped me fall in love with racing.

But this year, I feel like a seasoned veteran and there is a good feeling that comes with that too. I am not anxious or worried about anything. I’m ready for any weather, any crowd (heard there are over 9,000 registered so far!), I already know where the bathrooms are, etc. Now I am just ready to go have fun running 3.1 miles.

The Anthem 5k is also exciting because it kicks off the Louisville Triple Crown of Running, which is three races: the 5k, the 10k and the 10-miler. This will also be my 4th consecutive 10-miler, but only my third 10k, as I missed that race last year when I was out of town.

All of these races lead up to the big one, which for me this year is once again the Kentucky Derby Festival mini-Marathon. Someday I hope to do a full marathon but not quite yet ;-)

What are your racing plans for the Spring? Please share!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 22, 2011, in races, running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. It’s nice to go back to a race where everything started!!!

    I have a few races lined up this year…. I have the Disney Half (this Sunday), I have the Indy 500 mini-marathon, the Soldier Field 10 miler, the 13.1 Chicago Half Marathon and then the Chicago Marathon in October. Here’s to hoping that I don’t get injured and can actually do all my races planned this year!

  2. Sarah, I’m sad that I’m going to miss the 5K this weekend. Last year was my first year running it, along with the Triple Crown and Mini. I had a blast!

    My goal is to run a half marathon at the end of May, here in Boston. I need to get my schedule together, but I hope to go out and run this weekend- in honor of the Anthem 5K! I have my eye on some 5Ks in March and then some other races in April up here.

  1. Pingback: First time for everything « River City Fitness

  2. Pingback: Kentucky Derby Festival mini-Marathon #4 « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

