Vegan cookout

In my 17 months as a vegan, I have been to many, many potlucks, a cookie exchange and other gatherings surrounded by food. It’s so nice to go somewhere and not have to say “what’s in this?” or “can I eat this?”

But it wasn’t until this past weekend that I went to a vegan cookout! And it was so much fun :)

Saturday was Derby Day here in Kentucky but the Louisville Vegetarian Club decided to have an “alternative” cookout held at Tyler Park here in Louisville. This event was sponsored by Tofurky and Rainbow Blossom (a local health food store) who both donated food items!

What a beautiful day it was!

Pd

And the food was yummy too!

Tofurkey!

Tofurky brat on a Rudi’s hot dog bun with relish, mustard, ketchup and some organic tortilla chips with Athenos roasted garlic hummus :)

And of course, the rest of the crew brought some really delicious food to share!

Yum

Carrie‘s black bean quinoa and Seana’s vegan macaroni salad

Somebody knew my birthday was the day before and made this amazingly decadent chocolate cake with ganache and strawberries :)

Cake!

Thank you Carrie ;-)

I also had some spicy pasta salad a la Karen and these insanely addictive peanut butter chocolate chip blondies. Let’s just say I did not need to eat the rest of the evening!

I have to thank everyone for coming out and for sharing some truly wonderful dishes. You guys are so wonderful and I’m so glad to have this group in my life :)

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on May 10, 2011, in Dinner, Lunch, products and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’m not a strict vegan but I wish I could’ve had all that food… holy moly it looks good (and I am hungry.. right now I am)

  2. What a wonderful event! So many of my favorite things — would love to make a vegan macaroni salad! (And don’t even get me started on that cake — I don’t want to make it, I just want to eat it!) :) Happy belated birthday!

  3. Yep yep! Lots of fun :)

  4. 17 months?! wow, that’s awesome!! that quinoa salad looks deeelicious =)

  5. A vegan cookout sounds awesome! I’m a vegetarian, but I’m trying out a vegan diet for a month. It’s only been 4 days, and I’ve already accidentally had something with dairy once and been tempted another time! I definitely eat more dairy than I realize, haha!

  6. Ahhh that looks like so much fun!!! As a vegetarian, I don’t feel like I miss out on cookouts/bbqing at all! I LOVE veggie burgers and yves veggie dogs :)

    A vegan cookout would be a great way to show non-vegans how delicious and satisfying vegan cooking can be!

    • Thanks, that is definitely what we aim for :) I am vegan and even I was impressed and surprised at the amount and variety of delicious food we had there!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

