Clean machine

Well, hello there blog readers! Sorry to be completely absent yesterday, but overnight I turned into a cleaning machine, haha. Seriously though, I got so much done yesterday that I couldn’t believe it. And I’m not too exhausted today either!

But let’s catch up on the weekend first, shall we?

Saturday

After my lovely morning of breakfast, coffee, grocery shopping, etc. I spent some time looking at my favorite blogs, wishing Kath a happy birthday!, and then it was finally time for some lunch around 2:00. I’ve learned to start eating when I’m hungry and usually about 4 hours after my previous meal, instead of assuming lunchtime is always at 12 noon. 🙂

I made a big veggie burger, some brussels sprouts, and threw a big Claussen (the best) pickle on the plate, along with some of my new Smart Balance mayonnaise. Let me just say, this stuff was great! I love the way it tastes and it feels good knowing it’s good for me too. I also had a blueberry soy yogurt that had been in my fridge for some time. I was going to give these away because of their high sugar content but I decided that if eaten with a meal, I could do it. I just won’t buy these again for a while.

This lunch was so good and filling, I calculated it around 350 calories.

After I ate and digested a bit, I went to my parents house and cleaned their floors (they pay me to do this twice a week, they hate it and I could use the extra money, win-win situation) and on the way home I got my car washed and made a pit stop at Target 🙂

I picked up some Wasa crackers…I haven’t had any in a while and Target had them on sale 2 for $4.00. I just got the light rye crispbread this time. For 2 crackers, it’s only 60 calories and they are whole grain!


After doing some more things around the home, I was ready for a snack as I was planning a big walk that afternoon!

Two Wasa crackers spread with 1 tbsp Smucker’s Natural PB (165 calories):


My husband was “up the street” at a restaurant/bar watching the Texas vs. Oklahoma St. football game because none of our tv channels were airing it (which is INSANE by the way, the #6 and #1 teams playing each other?!) so I decided I would walk up there to meet him and then we could ride back together.

Whoa. I started off out of my neighborhood and took a few streets to get back to our old neighborhood (which is like a mile away). I walked past our old apartment, which was weird because I miss the old neighborhood, but I love the apartment we live in now sooo much better! Along the way, I decided to make a turn and conquer this hill (pic doesn’t do it justice):

I just kept going and going, I even ran a few times for a minute or so just to make up time (husband was getting worried, haha). Finally, after 45 minutes I had made it to the restaurant in enough time to drink a couple big glasses of water and watch the 4th quarter of the game — Texas won, yeah! So did Louisville, double yeah! 🙂
When we got back home, I got on Mapmyrun.com and calculated that I traveled a total of 3.07 miles on foot! So between that and my various household tasks, plus browsing Target, I got some exercise in that day.
We headed up to BWW for the UFC pay per view that night, which turned out to be a big letdown (note: I don’t think Anderson Silva is a jerk, that’s the author’s commentary). But we still had fun and definitely had some good food. I am a simple person and I love that at Buffalo Wild Wings, I can get the “naked” chicken tenders because they are grilled and you can choose your own sauce and only use however much you want.
I also had a side salad (minus croutons) with ranch dressing on the side (dipped my fork in it just a few times)…

The tenders with Carribean jerk sauce (haha, jerk sauce, seriously though, I love Anderson Silva)…

We got home just before 1:00 a.m., but I needed a little hot chocolate for my tummy 🙂 I sprayed a little whipped topping on there and a few drops of sugar free chocolate syrup.
Sunday

Breakfast yesterday morning was a repeat of the pumpkin-peanut butter oatmeal, which was probably even better the second time around. I did everything the same except I did 2 tsp of sugar free syrup this time instead of just 1. It made a huge difference! I also stirred the peanut butter around better, so it would be in almost every bite 🙂 I love this oatmeal! It keeps me going well until lunch! I did have two small styrofoam cups of coffee at church though (with sweet ‘n low and a little bit of powdered non-dairy creamer).


We had lunch with my parents after church at Jimmy John’s. I love this place, it is so close to where we live and it’s light and cheap too! I got the Beach Club unwich this time, which is turkey, provolone, lettuce, tomato, cucumber, bean sprouts and avocado spread (I told them to hold the mayo). I was afraid I would need something else when I got home (this was 233 calories), but once I started digesting, I was plenty full 🙂

We got back home and I had thought I wanted a nap but I couldn’t shut off my mind, so I made some of my new Celestial Seasonings decaf mint green tea with a splash of milk and sugar substitute. It was so good, mint is one of my favorites and this brand did not disappoint!

I did some straightening, dishes, laundry and prepared for a Financial class I am attending at my church. Now that we are consolidating our debt and working on a plan, I am feeling much better about things 🙂
Before I left for class, I needed a snack, so I made a Cranberry smoothie! I used 1/2 cup of plain fat free yogurt, 1/2 cup skim milk and 1/2 cup fresh cranberries with some ice (125 calories).

I also grabbed a mini Luna bar as I walked out the door. I felt okay eating it because it only had 5 grams of sugar and had “low Glycemic” listed on the label 🙂

After class, I stopped by Target again to price some coffee that Lindsay was talking about earlier…Archer Farms Pumpkin pie spice! I must have some! But, I am making myself wait a little while, as it would cost $6.79 and I have three things of coffee at home I need to try and use up first 🙂
One thing I did use that night was a package of Nasoya extra firm tofu! I had never used this specific kind before (just the silken) so I was anxious to try it.

I drained it and cut it up into 10 blocks and calculated that each piece was 40 calories. I marinated 4 pieces if Buffalo Wild Wings spicy garlic sauce and put them on my George Foreman grill (one of the best things Broccoli Hut ever taught me!) for about 5 minutes. I also cooked up some Pictsweet spring vegetables in the microwave:

I forgot to mention I made a tofu wrap! I used one of my Tamxicos whole wheat tortillas (I will need to get more of these!) and spread it with 1 tbsp fat free sour cream, sprinkled some lettuce on and then the tofu pieces. I did want to “wrap” it but I used too much stuff, so I made it more like a taco 😉
Here is the goodness from the inside:

I had so much fun making this and I was proud of myself for being rather creative instead of just making another veggie burger or something!
After dinner, I did a ton more cleaning. Sweeping, mopping, vacuuming, toilets, putting laundry away, changing sheets, you name it, I did it! It felt so good to get all that accomplished because that means when I get home today, I can just eat dinner and then sit back and enjoy Monday Night Football (go Colts!).
Before bed, I had some sugar free lime jello (good flavor!) and some spray whipped topping of course. The jello is hiding under there, I promise 🙂

Hope everyone had a fabulous weekend and is starting the week off right 🙂 Thanks for reading and for your comments, I really appreciate it!

 

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on October 27, 2008, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, herbal tea, Lunch, products, restaurants, Snacks, Walking, Weekends. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

