Guess I’m still watching…

I went into the season finale of “The Biggest Loser” last night with something on the line…if anyone other than Michelle wins, I would not watch it anymore. I like the show, but I feel like this year it had become more about “the game” and less about (mostly) humble people transforming their lives. THEN, MICHELLE WON!

First off, I was thrilled to bits when Allison announced that Ed had been voted in as the third finalist by America, getting an astounding 85% of the votes! Haha, in your face. Thanks to my peeps who voted for Ed, even though you don’t watch the show. Actually, I like Ed, but that’s what he and his wife get for trying to control the outcome of something.

You may recall, the last week on the ranch he purposely gained weight hoping it would send her to the finals, but Michelle blew everyone away with her weight loss that week so Ed & Heba ended up in the bottom 2. Hmm…Heba ended up winning the $100,000 for being the biggest percentage loser of the voted off contestants. I hope she’s happy; something about her just seems so disingenuous to me. Even Vicky, who was so vile through the 2nd half of the season, seemed rather happy and peaceful compared to her. I even felt sort of bad for hating on her, but only a little bit.

Needless to say, everyone looked phenomenal. But I do often wonder how many of them will be able to keep it up long term now that the show is over. I actually think the people who spent more time at home in the “real world” will have an easier time because they already have more experience dealing with the stresses of every day life and not having trainers to work you out 4-6 hours a day. So it will be interesting to see.

I’m so glad for Michelle. She went on “The Biggest Loser” to change her life, reconnect with her mother and in the process she inspired many young women, I am sure. She was the lone black team member remaining, so I’m sure it’s a huge deal for Jillian (her trainer) too.

Well, another season has ended and I guess I’m still watching. The show can be frustrating, unrealistic, over the top at times, but the truth is, I love seeing people who are in a situation I am quite familiar with turn their lives around for the better. It reminds me of how I did the same thing…without a show.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 17, 2008, in the biggest loser, tv shows, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

