Let’s see how far we’ve come…

I got on the scale at home this morning with a fresh new perspective. For the first time in recent history, I can say that I love where I am right now. I’m no longer going to focus on losing weight because I think I am at my “happy” place for now. Plus I am still building muscle, so I don’t expect to lose much more fat to offset the muscle gain in numbers.

I’m finally coming to terms with my body…it’s not perfect, but it’s pretty great. Especially considering how much it has gone through these past two years. I am finally becoming comfortable with who I am now; no longer an overweight person trying to lose weight. I am a healthy, fit female who is trying to keep it that way the rest of her life. And I feel fantastic. I still have bad days here and there, but overall, I feel good most of the time and I rarely get sick.

The past three days in particular, I have been more comfortable in my own skin. For a while now, I sort of felt like I was a fat girl living in a thin person’s body, like I didn’t recognize myself. I still get surprised sometimes when I look in the mirror, I won’t lie. But now I have realized that this is me, this is the hard work I have done, and I’m ready to take ownership of it.

So with that in mind, in the past two years, since January 18th, 2007, I have accomplished quite a bit and I want to share it with you all. When I’m reminded of all of these things, somehow it puts it all in perspective for me because they are things I can see (proof) to show how far I’ve come.

The health stuff:

  • Lost 70 lbs, been maintaining 66 of it for 1 year now!
  • Gone from 48.5% body fat down to 22%
  • Lost a ton of inches and added lots of lean muscle (I will have to go through my papers at home to get some real numbers for you!)
  • Taken up running (September 2007), having never truly ran before, and completed two 5k’s, a 10k, 10-miler, and half-marathon, all in Spring of 2008. I can’t wait to do more!
  • Lowered my blood pressure from 120/85 (average) to 116/62
  • Lowered my cholesterol from “borderline” to healthy range
  • Lowered by fasting blood glucose from 116 to 60
  • Resting pulse rate went from 82 to 60 bpm
  • Feeling much more energetic and no longer fatigued from treating my body with poor nutrition and little to no exercise.

    The fun stuff:

  • Finding this amazing blogging community, where I’ve made lots of friends and have gotten to pursue two of my favorite things: food and writing!
  • Trying new foods, things I never imagined I would be eating and also learning to cook a lot of things too, I have become much more well rounded in my diet.
  • Gone from a size 18W to just a regular 8 (I do have one pair of size 6 pants that fit too!)
  • From XL-XXL shirts to a S-M
  • I can now wear a size Small in stuff from Victoria’s Secret (most of their stuff only goes up to a large and I was barely making it most of the time)
  • Gone from a bra size 40DD to a 36B (sorry if that’s TMI, but it’s too much not to report)
  • Being able to go to a store knowing that something in there will fit me!
  • Writing a monthly column for my workplace’s employee newsletter that focuses on healthy living.

    The mental/spiritual stuff:

  • I no longer feel “out of control” or helpless, instead I feel quite empowered!
  • I have more of an outgoing personality thanks to a newfound self-confidence; I used to be somewhat of a wallflower.
  • No longer afraid to be in crowds or thinking people are looking at me, judging me on my appearance (I’m sure they still do, but I don’t care anymore!)
  • This gift of health has made me much closer to God, our relationship has benefited from all of this greatly, which is truly the most important thing in my life.
  • I have more fun with my husband and friends, especially going to concerts, shopping, etc. things that would’ve worn me out before can’t get me down now.
  • I have been inspired to help others more, which has led to some charity work, blood donating and of course my big mission trip to Nicaragua this past summer. I feel very blessed and want to give back to those less fortunate than me.
  • Having co-workers or friends share their successes with me, telling me that I inspired them to do something for themselves and their health
  • I have become hyperaware of my family’s health & habits (many of them I used to have) and want to help them change their lives, that is going to be my 2009 goal.

    There is SO MUCH more I could write here and maybe I will come back and add some more later but for now I just felt inspired to get these out there.

    Oh yeah, I almost forgot…this morning, the scale said my favorite number…147.5! I’ll take it 🙂

  • Advertisements

    About Sarah Frankel

    I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

    Posted on December 17, 2008, in accomplishments, blogging, goals, Weight, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

    1. nikislosingit

      What a great post! What amazing things you have “gained” from your journey! Progress in so many different areas of your life! Very cool!

    1. Pingback: Breakthrough « See Sarah Eat

    2. Pingback: 900 posts « See Sarah Eat

    3. Pingback: December 2008 « See Sarah Eat

    Leave a Reply

