Throwing caution to the wind

I ended up not needing another snack before dinner on Saturday…I took a nap instead! I think I have been really tired for a while and just didn’t realize it until I took some time off. I felt well rested and energetic when I left the house 🙂

For dinner, we went to this great place called Karma Cafe they had so much to choose from that I had a really hard time picking. I ended up ordering the Hummus sandwich (served in a pita pocket) that came with fries. I was going to substitute, but you know what? I haven’t had french fries like this in almost 2 years. So I said what the heck. They were actually pretty good…not salty and greasy like some restaurants. I ate about 2/3 of them, no way I could finish it.

We hit up a local music store here that’s really fun just to walk around in. Then we went to our usual spot at the end of the evening…our local coffee house. I love Starbucks but it feels good to support local businesses too. Both the coffee and the cookie are locally owned and made!

It felt good to just take a chance, have some french fries and a cookie for once. It’s okay to do it every once in a while, it’s not like every day. That’s the difference. I am starting to feel more “normal” these days…the old pre-2007 me used to eat this stuff everyday (in larger quantities) and not even get any enjoyment out of it. The in between me just said don’t eat this stuff ever, it’s evil!

The current me says there is nothing wrong with it…I have control of food, it does not have control over me any longer. I have achieved balance in my life and it is very healthy. I feel good.

Hope everyone had a great weekend! I can’t believe tomorrow is Monday…it will be weird not getting up to go to work!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 21, 2008, in Dessert, Dinner. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

