The day after

The day after Christmas, I woke up fresh and ready to work off some holiday calories! I am so grateful for access to the YMCA for the next week, I am thinking about writing a card to the department of my company that is responsible for securing that for us πŸ˜‰

For breakfast, I had a packet of pumpkin spice oatmeal (made with 1/2 cup vanilla soymilk), topped with 1/2 a banana and 1 tbsp peanut butter. YUM!

I headed over to the Y and took a 45-minute cycling (aka spinning) class that was very challenging! I was excited because I had never taken one before and heard so many of you swear by them…I’m hooked! I was so sore the next day though, whew. While I was there I also did some upper body weights πŸ™‚

On my way back home, I stopped at Starbucks and got a grande skinny Cinnamon dolce latte! I’m done with the holiday drinks now, but they were good. This really hit the spot though and I know the protein from the milk was good for my workout recovery πŸ˜‰


While drinking the coffee, I took the doggie on a nice long walk because the weather these past few days has been insane! I think we ended up hitting 70 degrees on Friday, wow! After dog walking, I went grocery shopping with the hubby which got even more steps in πŸ˜‰

For lunch, I had a packet of salmon (3 oz.) mixed with 1 tbsp of spicy three pepper hummus (omg, how I’d missed it, it was on sale, yippee!). I had it on Arnold double fiber wheat bread with a side of green beans.


After lunch, I went out on a 2+hour shopping extravaganza, where I picked up some gifts for people we hadn’t exchanged with yet and spent a few of my gift cards, including an awesome $25 card to Whole Foods from my aunt, woo hoo!

While I was there, I picked up an afternoon snack of this drink, which was pretty good (and only 10 calories)…

And my absolute FAVORITE Larabar (that’s right, ginger snap is down to #2)….

This snack was so good and it held me over FOREVER!

Later that day, I headed to a friend’s house for a girl’s night in…she made her awesome (all-veggie) taco soup, which I topped with some 2% cheese, fat free sour cream and tortilla chips. I had two bowls like this πŸ™‚

Then afterward, I broke out another Christmas gift, my Ghiradelli dark chocolate raspberry squares…I only ate one and it was pretty good but I was later disappointed to read some nasty ingredients on the box when I got back home 😦

A few hours later, after watching another movie, I had some of my friends Silk Light Chocolate soymilk because I was hungry and thought some protein might help πŸ™‚

Then when I got home a few hours after that…I had a piece of banana bread because my stomach was grumbly…it’s like “Where’s all the calories you’ve been eating the past few days” haha…


That was it! I felt like it was a really good Friday…I ate pretty well and got some amazing exercise in. After that cycling class, any ounce of guilt I had (which wasn’t much) about eating during christmas literally melted away πŸ™‚

Hope you all are having happy holidays too!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on December 29, 2008, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

