My big fat Greek Friday

Breakfast – Quaker pumpkin spice instant oatmeal (made with vanilla soymilk) with 1 tbsp chopped walnuts and 1 tbsp peanut butter; other 1/2 of orange from day before.

Had some coffee at home with chocolate peppermint soy beverage as creamer.

We went bowling with my parents for some exercise and we had a good time, it had been too long since we’d been bowling. We only got two games in before we had to go eat lunch but I broke 100 both times so I was quite proud of myself, haha.

For lunch, we went to Arby’s and I tried one of their new salads, I think this one is called Farmhouse chopped salad and I got it with grilled chicken and honey mustard dressing. I know the salad itself has less than 300 calories and I think with the 1/2 packet of dressing I used, this came to 319 calories. Not to shabby. I liked their chicken a lot more than what comes on the McDonald’s salad, it was really big chunks!

For a sweet treat, I had another dark chocolate bliss from Hershey’s…

I took little Miss Suzie on an hour long dog walk before coming home and enjoying this afternoon snack…doesn’t even compare to the Larabar, but that’s ok, it was still good.


I met up with a friend for some shopping + good eats. After browsing a few stores, we settled on The Grape Leaf a restaurant here in town that offers meditteraean cuisine!

We started things off with the hummus platter…multiply this x 3. They really have some of the best I’ve ever tasted!


A cup of Lentil soup came with my meal and I ate most of it, minus a few bites…


For my main course, I had the falafel in a pita with tomatoes, cucumber and tahini yogurt sauce and a side of lentil rice, which I ate most of but I finished the entire pita!


It was a lot of food but I didn’t feel stuffed when I left and everything tasted great. The best part was that I got all of that for $9.99 plus tax & tip. You just can’t beat that!

Afterwards, we went to Barnes & Noble where I just got a regular coffee with Splenda, I was so not in the mood for dessert since dinner was so satisfying. I did have to talk myself out of a cinnamon scone though, it looked good!

When I got home, my stomach was rumbly, so I had a chocolate soymilk, then brushed my teeth and hit the hay!


Hope you all are enjoying the weekend! It’s back to work for me on Monday, ugh 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 3, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, restaurants. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

