Feasting?!

Saturday night’s dinner at BD’s Mongolian Grill was great…I just noticed that two nights over the weekend, I had more of a “feast” than dinner. But I thoroughly enjoyed myself and am now ready to get back to my “normal” way of eating, smaller meals 😉

I started things off with the salad bar, I piled my plate high with salad greens, cucumbers, chick peas (love!), carrots, red onions, a little bit of cheese, then drizzled some fat free raspberry vinaigrette on top.

I tried the two soups they offered. I believe the first one (pictured below) was some sort of potato soup; the other was New England Clam chowder for sure, I’m not a big fan. I had three bites of the potato and only one of the other just to see what it was (they didn’t have labels up, tsk tsk)…They were both just too heavy and creamy for my liking.

After the soup disappointment (I’d been hoping for some vegetable based), I went back to the salad bar and grabbed some mandarin oranges, pineapple and more chick peas!


Now for the main course, my fantastic bowl of shrimp, mushrooms, peppers, onions, broccoli, water chestnuts, red skinned potatoes, all stir fried in a spicy buffalo sauce spiked with minced garlic and a side of brown rice!


Even though I was full from dinner, I “couldn’t help” but dig into the marshmallows and chocolate hazelnut spread again! We should’ve gotten something else for dessert, I honestly think if I’d had another option I would’ve passed this up. Let’s just say, there was more than this and there is no longer chocolate hazelnut spread in my house! Thank goodness…

Hope everyone had a great weekend and are adjusting to being back at work if this is your first day back like me! 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 5, 2009, in Dessert, Dinner, restaurants, salad, soup. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sorry the soup wasn’t that great – I’ve never tried it from there, now I know not to bother!

    Your dessert sounds divine though!!

Leave a Reply

