How sweet it is…

…to feel like my old self again! Today was a red letter day if I do say so myself. Not only did I eat healthy, exercise and get lots of work done, I also got a lot more housework done tonight. The only thing I didn’t do was go through boxes, but I plan to start on that tomorrow. No need to overdo anything, right?! 😉

Mid-afternoon before I left work, I had a cheese stick:

My workout consisted of 20 minutes on the treadmill: 5 walking to warm up, 5 increasing incline by 2.0 every minute, then 5 running from 5.0-5.5, and 5 walking to cool down.

I did a really quick strength routine because I was pressed for time, but I managed to get the following done:

2 sets of chest presses (set 1 – 15lbs x 12 reps; set 2 – 20 lbs x 10 reps)
2 sets of shoulder presses (set 1 – 10 lbs x 12 reps; set 2 – 12.5 lbs x 10 reps)
2 sets of bicep curls (set 1 – 12.5 lbs x 12 reps; set 2 – 15 lbs x 10 reps)
2 sets of tricep extensions (set 1 – 12.5 lbs x 12 reps; set 2 – 15 lbs x 10 reps)
2 sets of lunges (with one leg on weight bench, 10 reps per leg per set)
2 sets of squats (10 reps per set)
2 sets of table leg-lifts aka Caitlin’s ab exercise day 2 (15 reps per set)
2 sets of bicycle crunches (30 reps per set)

I also drank tons of water over the course of my workout. I’ve noticed that when I’m at work and the gym, I am better at drinking more water than when I am at home on vacation!

When I got home, I was hongry, so I made a big salad for some filling delicious veggies…romaine lettuce, 8 grape tomatoes, 1/3 of a cucumber, 1 tbsp turkey bacon bits, 1 tsp parmesan cheese and 2 tbsp light balsamic dressing…

Dinner was a small steak topped with a few mushrooms (stole from husband), 1/2 cup black eyed peas (supposedly good luck for the new year?), and a sandwich thin with Smart Balance. I decided to pass on wine tonight, I don’t think I am an every day wine drinker and I enjoy it more when it’s only once or twice a week.

Currently, while sitting here blogging from home, I am drinking this strawberry smoothie! I just put 1/2 cup vanilla soymilk, 1/2 cup yogurt and 2/3 cup frozen strawberries in the blender and voila!

Now that I have made myself cold, I think I am going to make a cup of tea and hit the sack to read some while the husband stays downstairs yelling at the Texas game, haha…

Good night!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 6, 2009, in Dinner, exercise, salad, smoothie, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a great day! I have the same trouble with smoothies – I get too cold but they’re so worth it 🙂

  2. Kyle and Darci

    love the smoothie idea…def going to try that one out!!

Leave a Reply

