Mind over matter

Yesterday was proof that if you make up your mind to do something, you will do it! I wasn’t feeling too well, felt low on energy and had a bad attitude when I left work yesterday. But I had time and wanted to go to the gym because I had skipped Thursday due to my new class schedule and not feeling like doing much when I got home.

I got on the treadmill and walked for 4 minutes until I reached 0.25 mile; then I put my book over top the numbers (time/distance) so I couldn’t see them and I started running at 5.0 mph. I left my iPod at home (another source of frustration) so I just listened to the tunes at the gym and every time a song changed, I increased my speed by 0.2; before I knew it, I was up to 6.0 and I stayed there for more than 5 minutes, something I didn’t think I could do anymore.

I ran 3 miles! Without stopping to walk, without struggling to catch my breath. I easily and comfortably eased myself into running 3 miles and I was so impressed with my speed. I think the key is getting the distance and time out of my mind and just focusing on the joy of running. I cooled down for a couple of minutes and then went and did some serious stretching.

My attitude instantly improved and I felt so good when I walked out of there. Even with it being 12 degrees yesterday (the high!), I was seeing things so much more positively and clearly when I left the gym. Hooray!

Be back with the eats, just wanted to share that.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on January 17, 2009, in accomplishments, exercise, running. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. GREAT JOB WITH THE RUN and more importantly, IMO, with turning your day/attitude around.

    thats the harder part for me!

  2. Yay on your 3-miler!! That’s awesome! Sometimes all it takes is getting out of our own head in order to accomplish something that we don’t think we can. So good for you…I’m proud of you!

Leave a Reply

