Long day

Mondays are my longest days of the week, so thank goodness I get it over with early, right? Yay!

Let me just say, it felt so incredibly great to get back to work and my normal schedule, as crazy as it is. I was going nuts being at home so much, even though it gave me a chance to spend more quality time with my husband and dog than I usually get to. But still, by the weekend, I was ready to break out! 🙂

Here is my Monday, in pictures…

Annie's Cinnabunnies cereal + 1% milk

Annie's Cinnabunnies cereal + 1% milk

 

I finished off this box of cereal today without realizing that I haven’t really properly reviewed it. I got this box for $2 at Kroger because it was being discontinued from that particular store. It wasn’t quite what I expected…the cinnamon flavor was ok, but not very strong and the bunnies were puffed and dry so eating it plain (which I do a lot) made me pretty thirsty. But when put into milk, this cereal is awesome! The bunnies soak up the milk so they get a little mushy but still crunch and then the cinnamon totally infiltrates the milk, so if you’re a drinker (you eat the bowl of cereal and drink the remaining milk) like me, it’s quite a treat 🙂

I would like to try the other flavors and obviously, I’m a bigger fan of the bunny grahams, but I do love Annie’s products in general because they are tasty, cute and all-natural with no yucky ingredients. 

Anjou pear, ate half at home and half at work

Anjou pear, ate half at home and half at work

I had a cup of coffee at work and I am trying something new. I ventured out to Walmart over the snow/icestorm break and looked at sweeteners for my coffee. I had decided I no longer want to use aspartame (Equal) or nutrasweet (Sweet ‘n Low), but I still considered Splenda (sucralose) and looked at others. Well, a box of 50 packets of Splenda was $2.12 and a box of 50 packets of Sugar in the Raw was 62 cents! No brainer?

I was a little hesitant at first because it’s pure sugar and each packet contains 20 calories, but I’ve been able to just use half a packet in smaller cups and I’ve eliminated using milk or other creamer in addition to it, at least at work. My biggest complaints about artificial sweeteners are that 1) they contain chemicals that may or may not be harmful to the body, 2) they are way too sweet, which can make you crave more sweet things, a problem I think I’ve been experiencing, and 3) they are typically more expensive.

What do you all think? I am not going to eliminate artificial sweeteners completely, but as far as adding them into things I think I am done. My hope is that eventually I can drink my coffee black or with just a splash of milk, which I have done before. I think the Sugar in the Raw is going to be the bridge between the two. It doesn’t make the coffee taste sweet, but it brings out the flavor a little bit more. I also love the crystal form it is in, visual pleasure is a good thing too.

Anyway, back to food…

Honey roasted peanuts (ate half in the morning, other half during class at night)

Honey roasted peanuts (ate half in the morning, other half during class at night)

I took a break and hit up the gym. I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do at all, but I knew I needed to read for my class that night, so I decided to hop on the treadmill and walk + read. I warmed up and then set the speed at 3.8 and incline 1.0. I ended up going for 45 minutes and burning over 200 calories. Not too bad for someone who spent the last week being a couch potato!

When I got back, I was so ready for lunch. Did I mention I drank over 100 ounces of water yesterday? I think I needed it.

Veggie chili + 2 tbsp 2% cheese + 2 tbsp fat free sour cream

Veggie chili + 2 tbsp 2% cheese + 2 tbsp fat free sour cream

Listening to my body, leaving a few bites behind! This never happens.

Listening to my body, leaving a few bites behind! This never happens.

00 drag! Plus some tea.

Citrus really does wake you up at the 2:00 drag! Plus some tea.

 

Now this is where my earlier conversation about chemicals, artificial sweeteners, etc. seems a little contradictory. I have actually, purposefully, avoided the following yogurt for a while now because it contains High Fructose Corn Syrup and has a slightly higher sugar content than I like to consume from yogurt. But, blame advertising, they keep showing them on The Biggest Loser and other commercials and I am so bored with my current yogurt that I gave in. Plus I had a coupon (gets me every time).

So here it is, in all it’s glory…Yoplait Light Cinnamon Roll yogurt aka crack!

snack2

Thick and creamy style is the best!

Thick and creamy style is the best!

It tasted great, the texture was my favorite and best of all, it satisfied my stomach and sweet tooth at the same time. So what about this HFCS? I try to avoid it like the plague. But aren’t there new findings out now that say it’s the same as regular sugar? If I’m not afraid to eat regular sugar in some products, than why not the occasional HFCS? Unfortunately, it’s pretty early in the ingredients list too, I think the 4th or 5th ingredient, which indicates the amount (earlier on the list, more it contains). So I’m torn.But, this container gave me 14 grams of sugar, which is only 4-5 more than my usual Kroger brand and I got to try a new flavor. Some of the Stonyfield and other brands, even though their ingredients are more natural, contain 29 grams of sugar sometimes. So what’s more important? I guess just getting a good variety and not too much of one thing or the other. At least that’s my story right now!

Dinner…oh boy, here we go again. I ate a frozen dinner for dinner. I don’t usually eat these at all anymore, but Lean Cuisines have been on sale massively these past few weeks and they are rather convenient when one is tired or short on time. But don’t use them as a crutch! Last night, I had this bad boy…

This entire box contains 270 calories!

This entire box contains 270 calories!

I did shake things up a bit by taking everything out of the container once it was cooked and then making myself a whole wheat dinner roll with Promise spread to go with it. Promise by the way has a new tagline on it’s container that says “Cardiologist Approved.” It’s definitely Sarah approved. It tastes good and contains no partially hydrogenated oils (what is wrong with you, I can’t believe it’s not butter?!).

Salisbury steak, chive mashed potatoes, carrots, dinner roll

Salisbury steak, chive mashed potatoes, carrots, dinner roll

Now, my beef with frozen dinners (pun not originally intended), is that they contain a lot of sodium. But since I eat them either never or once a week, I’m not too worried and I’m also not sodium sensitive. But I worry about people who eat frozen dinners everyday, especially those with high blood pressure or sodium sensitivity. I understand the convenience and cost effectiveness though. It’s hard.

After dinner, dishes, laundry and relaxing on the couch for a bit, I had this dessert:

Sugar free pudding, cool whip, graham cracker sheet

Sugar free pudding, cool whip, graham cracker sheet

I got back on the couch with the dog and watched “24” and drank some chamomile tea, which I think relaxed me too much because I fell asleep for about 15 minutes during the show and then went straight to bed when it was over. But I woke up this morning (early) feeling refreshed and ready to take on today. So I guess I didn’t something right?

Hope everyone had a happy Monday, see you later!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 3, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Mondays are no fun 😦

    I was wondering if those cinnamon roll yogurts were good – glad to know they’re alright! Good luck with reducing your artificial sugar intake, I’ve been trying to break my splenda habit but haven’t been too successful yet!

Leave a Reply

