New schedule, plan, etc.

sunrise2001120full20page

This morning, I woke up bright (actually dark) and early at 5:15 a.m., walked the dog, packed my clothes, toiletries, lunch, etc. and ate a quick bowl of cereal before heading out the door at 6:00! Why in the world did I do this, you ask?

Because, I have decided that the best thing for me to do on Tuesdays and Thursdays is to get up early and hit the gym first thing before work! I used to do this a lot when I was going through my weight loss and also training for the mini-marathon because I had to work in exercise just about everyday. I’m not sure why I stopped doing it, but I guess my schedule just kept changing and it was convenient anymore.

Well, I’ve been missing out! Not only did I get a great workout, but I also feel GREAT! Morning workouts really get me going and keep me awake and energized the rest of the day. It’s also a good feeling to have burned some calories and downed 2 bottles of water before 8 a.m., haha.

My new schedule should be doable most weeks, assuming we don’t have anymore freak snow or other storms (please God) and I stay healthy. On Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays, I will be able to work out on my lunch break, even though that means eating at my desk. Mondays are just too long to start even earlier in the morning and the other two days I carpool. Tuesdays and Thursdays, I will have my early morning workouts. Saturdays I will strive to either a) do yoga, b) walk or run outside or at the mall, or c) some other activity or class. And most likely Sundays will be my rest day or at least less active day. I think this might just work!

Here’s my workout for today:

Cardio

15 minutes on the treadmill – walked 0.25 mile, ran 0.75 mile (between 5.0-5.5 mph), walked the rest to cool down

Strength/Weight training

Lateral pulldowns, 50 lbs (1 x 12); 40 lbs (1×15)

Chest press machine, 30 lbs (1 x 12); 20 lbs (1×15)

Back extensions on balance ball (2 x 15)

Ab crunches on balance ball (2 x 15)

Leg press machine, 160 lbs (2 x 12)

Leg extension machine, 50 lbs (1×12); 55 lbs (1×12)

Leg curl machine, 50 lbs (2×12)

Then I actually took the time to shower and get ready at the gym and then walked on over to work. It was so nice and relaxing, even for having to get up 45 minutes earlier. Totally worth it!

Happy Tuesday all!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 3, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It’s always great to have a plan! And I love morning workouts! I never feel like my day really starts until I have worked out. You got a great workout in and started the day off right! Yay you!!

Leave a Reply

