Starbucks and long underwear

Hello blogland!

It is officially 12 degrees here in Kentucky as I speak, which is just making me long for Spring even more than I already was. When temps are in the 30’s-40’s, I am okay but when it gets painfully cold, I am not a happy camper, especially when I have to go walk my dog at 6 in the morning! But oh well, hopefully it’ll be outta here soon. The title of this post refers to the layers I am wearing today to battle the cold and where I stopped on the way to work this morning, hehe.

Yesterday was a pretty good day; at first I didn’t think my workout was effective, but this morning, the more I’ve tried to move around, the more I feel the sore muscles, yay! 🙂

Here’s what went down, foodwise:

Kashi Good Friends cereal + 1% milk

Kashi Good Friends cereal + 1% milk

 

I don’t think I’ve ever properly reviewed this cereal…it is the Kashi Good Friends High Fiber Cinna-Raisin crunch cereal. It contains 8 grams of fiber per cup, and I usually have a 1.5 cup serving, so there’s 12 grams of fiber to start off my day! I really like the taste and the consistency; it’s sort of like raisin bran only it doesn’t get soggy in your milk. I would definitely buy this one again and now I’m optimistic about trying some of the other selections from the Good Friends line.

I’ve also really enjoyed just getting back into eating cereal for breakfast. It used to not keep me full, but that is because I was measuring out 1 cup of cereal and 1/2 cup of milk, which wouldn’t keep most people full without pairing it with something else! So once I learned to bump it up a bit, it has been much more enjoyable. It’s a quick thing to make when there is so much to do in the morning already 🙂

I ate this early enough that I was able to digest and settle a decent amount before hitting the gym and even doing some running after eating this did not bother my stomach. I was quite pleased. Plus my morning workout just left me feeling really good all day!

When I got to work, I had my usual one cup of coffee + 1 packet of Sugar in the Raw. Then I headed off to Anatomy & Physiology class, where I learned that I made a 34/35 on our first test, hooray! At first I thought this class would be really hard and boring at the same time, but while it is a challenge, I find it really interesting and I seem to be doing pretty well so far.

30, honey roasted peanuts!

Ate these after class aro und 10:30, honey roasted peanuts!

Sorry some of my meals and snacks are getting so repetitive! I’m trying to use some stuff up because we are planning a trip to Sam’s club this weekend! And the regular store too 😉

Another new soup - Progresso Beef Barley

Another new soup - Progresso Beef Barley

As expected this can had quite a bit of sodium (27% DV per serving) and this was obvious just looking at the bowl when it came out of the microwave! I liked the taste and the flavors of the beef and vegetables, but it was a bit on the salty side. I have just found that the “light” line of their soups are watery and don’t contain enough “chunk” for me, I’m like one of those football players in the commercials, haha.

Behold it's saltiness

Behold it's saltiness

This can also contained “partially hydrogenated beef fat” toward the very end of the ingredients list, so I missed it when I picked up the can. For that and the sodium, I probably will not buy this one again but I hope to maybe find one similar or make my own recipe because I did like the actual food ingredients of the soup.

Here’s a close-up:

Didn't manage to get any beef in this picture!

Didn't manage to get any beef in this picture!

And again, I listened to my stomach, which told me it was done before I had completely slurped up the entire bowl. So again, I listened.

You can't tell but I crumbled 2 Wasa crackers in here!

You can't tell but I crumbled 2 Wasa crackers in here!

Later on, I had a cup of Lipton Herbal tea in Cinnamon Apple and an orange, the picture got lost somewhere along the way so just look at yesterday’s, it’s pretty much the same 🙂 Again, my repetitiveness, apologies…

Yoplait Cherry Cobbler

Yoplait Cherry Cobbler

I can’t believe I have three product reviews in one post, ahhh! Again, in spite of the HFCS in Yoplait’s yogurt (which upon further investigation is actually the 2nd ingredient on the list, gasp!), I tried my second flavor yesterday…Cherry Cobbler. It tasted very cherry and the thick and creamy consistency won me over, but sometimes I think I would rather actually have a small bit of cherry cobbler than something that fakes it. But when you are watching calories, this does help out. I think if I had mixed it with some cereal, it might’ve had a better affect!

Check it out, it stands up on the spoon!

Check it out, it stands up on the spoon!

 

Walking the dog when I got home yesterday evening was brutal! It was in the 20’s and the wind was blowing like mad, I think I was frozen solid by the time we finally came back in and my husband kept asking me why my face was red! Duh, it’s just a bit cold out there 😉 But I couldn’t be mean to him, he made a nice hot dinner for me that really hit the spot!

Chicken breast, ketchup, edamame, ww dinner roll + Promise

Chicken breast, ketchup, edamame, ww dinner roll + Promise

 

The chicken was so tender and easy to cut, it just melted in my mouth. Afterwards, I felt the need for something sweet, which I managed to hold off with 2 Dark Chocolate kisses.

I can't believe how long these have lasted!

I can't believe how long these have lasted!

 

Then I did some dishes, laundry, packed my stuff for the next day, took the dog out and then sat down for the second hour of The Biggest Loser, which got pre-empted from 8-9 because of the University of Kentucky basketball game, which THEY LOST! So it wasn’t even worth booting my show for 😦 Husband is a big fan, he was not happy…

I did end up enjoying a snack of 1 graham cracker sheet + 2 tsp peanut butter. I’d actually planned on making little grahamwiches out of them, but decided not to use another graham cracker sheet, which saved me 65 unneeded calories. This was a good treat and I was perfectly content when I was finished.

YUM!

YUM!

 

I made a cup of tea (Ginger Twist) before heading upstairs and falling asleep trying to watch “Nip/Tuck” with my husband. That show is so twisted sometimes, but I think that’s what draws us to it? Drinking tea before bedtime really relaxes me, I’ve come to realize.

Hope everyone had a great Tuesday, and Happy Wednesday! We’re getting closer to the weekend again 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 4, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, Kashi, Lunch, products, reviews, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh my it is FREEZING here, too! It was 11* this morning! Sheesh! But I hear this weekend is supposed to be beautiful, and WARM! So maybe some of will will head your way, too.

    Yay for morning workouts! Proud of you!

    I was a little aggravated that TBL was missing the first hour, too. We missed last week due to our 2-hr power outage so I was really looking forward to seeing the whole thing this week. I was glad that Joelle got sent home, but I wish so much that Carla could have stayed. She really seemed to work hard and wanted it so much…I felt so bad for her!

    Have a great day! Try to stay warm!

  2. Brrrr!!! I hate this winter – it’s been brutal! Thanks for the heads up on the Kashi cereal! It sounds great 🙂

    U of K basketball = my fav. NBA player used to be on that team! Can you guess who 😉

Leave a Reply

