Warmth on the horizon

PTL! That’s praise the Lord for those of you who didn’t know, haha. But seriously, PTL that we have warm(er) weather on the way! Today, it’s going to be in the 30’s (heat wave!), tomorrow we should reach 48 and then this weekend, we’re expecting high 50’s that should continue into next week, woo hoo! There is some rain in the forecast but I don’t care, at least it won’t be cold 🙂

Yesterday just plain rocked. Whenever I have a really good day, when my eats, exercise and everything just seems in line, I need to put a star on a calendar or something. Do you guys do anything to remind yourselves of good days so you can go back and look at how many you had later?

Sorry for the few repeats to follow, but I promise there are some newer things to come!

Good Friends cereal, 1% milk (last of the box!)

Good Friends cereal, 1% milk (last of the box)

Skinny vanilla latte -- Thanks Mom!

Skinny vanilla latte -- Thanks Mom!

Cranberry trail mix from my secret santa

Cranberry trail mix from my secret santa

I received this trail mix in the stash of goodies I got from my Blogger Secret Santa way back in December (haha) and I just now finished it off and have decided to review it formally. Here is another look, it is from Target, the Archer Farms brand:

review

First off, let me just be completely honest and say I wasn’t sure at first if I would like this at all and I even considered giving it away to someone who would. But since I tend to like a ton of things and give just about anything a chance, I dug in. Pumpkin seeds are a new thing for me, but I have been eating them a lot the past year (until recently when I ran out). I really enjoyed them in the trail mix, a good compliment to the cranberries and golden raisins! Plus this mix contains almonds which are just downright awesome.

So the verdict? Well, I really liked this mix, but it isn’t a favorite (my fave being the ones with chocolate or M&M’s in them) so the chances that I’ll buy it again are not too great. But I would recommend it to people who like sweet ‘n salty trail mixes without chocolate in them and if anyone ever bought it for me again, I would most certainly keep and eat it 🙂

Tuna wrap, carrots, pear

Tuna wrap, carrots, pear

 

That lunch may not look like much but it was super filling! Even for someone who burned 500 calories before I ate it (and it only came to 317). I wasn’t hungry for my orange + tea until after 3:00 and couldn’t even think about eating a yogurt before I left, wow.

Vitamin C at work

Vitamin C at work

Diet Dr. Pepper...I'm trying to quit but I've managed to cut back.

Diet Dr. Pepper...I'm trying to quit but I've managed to cut back.

 When I got home, I walked the doggie real quick and made a salad to take to Girl’s Night. But I was pretty hungry at that point since I had put off my usual afternoon work snack. So I decided to bust open the hazelnut spread (uh oh, watch out) and spread 2 tsp on a graham cracker sheet:

Pretty darn good

Pretty darn good

That hit the spot and held me over greatly until it was time for dinner!

Pizza bake, italian bread, salad

Pizza bake, italian bread, salad

My friend Courtney made this wonderful pizza casserole that contained pasta, cheese, pizza sauce and green peppers (we keep it veggie for our friend Margie) and it was so good! I had another serving, a bit smaller than the one pictured, for seconds plus another small slice of bread. The bread was really soft and a perfect compliment to the casserole. The salad I brought was romaine with slivered almonds, parmesan cheese and this new dressing I bought that I will have to review later. It’s Wishbone Italian but it’s quite different than your normal italian dressing. You’ll see it here soon!

Unfortunately, my phone battery went kaput before we had dessert and it’s such a shame too! My friend Beth made these cute little dessert “cups” using mini phyllo dough dessert cups, filled with a mixture of cream cheese, cool whip and vanilla extract (all low fat) and topped with strawberries and blueberries. And they were literally bite-size, so I had 4. I checked the box the cups came in and it said 2 had 30 calories, so I got at least 60 calories from the cups, not too much from the fruit (2 tbsp maybe) so all I didn’t really know was the mixture, but since it was low in fat, I’m sure the cals were pretty low too. YUM! Sorry you missed it 😦

Hope everyone enjoys their afternoon + evening, thanks for stopping by!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 5, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. As someone who doesn’t like chocolate too much, that trail mix sounds fabulous! That sounds like a really fun evening – can’t go wrong with good friends!

Leave a Reply

