Learning from, not dwelling on

Yesterday was another pretty great day. I swear, these morning workouts do so much for my energy the rest of the day, not to mention my mood. I love it! I did have a little minor issue with snacking last night, but I choose to think of it more as a learning experience, something to work on the next time it comes up, and not dwelling on it as “bad” or a “mistake” because I know negative self-talk gets me nowhere.

Hope you all are having a lovely Friday, it’s 50 degrees and sunny here, I think all the snow and ice might finally melt 🙂

Smoothie + Think Thin bar

Breakfast on the go: Smoothie + Think Thin bar

 

The smoothie was made with 1 cup of 1% milk, 2/3 cup frozen strawberries, 2 tbsp of blueberries, and a packet of fat free cocoa. It was awesome and even though it was 20 degrees yesterday it didn’t make me more cold! So, as you can see, I have a new bar to review.

Think Thin Bar - Creamy Peanut Butter

Think Thin Bar - Creamy Peanut Butter

 

I got this bar a long time ago and didn’t realize until just now that I probably should’ve checked to see if it was recalled…oh well. Anyway, this bar has quite a bit more calories than I like for a snack, so I had been saving it for a meal replacement when I was short on time, like yesterday! I had gotten it at Target for 78 cents on clearance.

First off, the bar was a decent size but for the calories, I would rather have something like a HUGE Clif bar. The consistency was pretty good…at one point, I thought I was eating a Three Musketeer bar (texture-wise), which made me pretty happy — that used to be my drug of choice. The taste was pretty okay for 6:00 on the morning and paired with an awesome smoothie, but I don’t think this bar is one I would buy again, but I would like to try the other flavors available. Basically when I was almost done with it, I did feel like I was eating something artificial, you know what I mean? But it had 20 grams of protein and held me through my workout and then some.

When I got to work, I had my usual coffee and then mid-morning, I snacked on some honey roasted peanuts in class (sorry no pic).

For lunch, I had gone straight for convenience again –

Another sodium-laden meal from a box

Another sodium-laden meal from a box

 

This is my last Lean Cuisine, so I don’t think I’ll buy anymore for a while, I do just worry about the sodium and some of the ingredients used for preservation. But they are okay to have once in a while and are certainly good for calorie and portion control!

This selection was an old favorite and hit the spot pretty well. But it only had 280 calories and even if it’s all in my head, I knew I wouldn’t be full from that, so I had an orange to go with it 🙂

Nice recyclable bowl

Nice recyclable bowl

 

Preserving my immunity again!

Preserving my immunity again!

 

In the afternoon, I took a short walk over to the bookstore because I needed to get out and get some fresh air, plus we were having a 35 degree heat wave, haha. Nothing like today though, it is just glorious and it’s only going to get better tomorrow (60’s)! But I digress…while I was out, I grabbed a little travel cup of Cheerios because I just had this thing where I had to put something in my yogurt for my afternoon snack.

Yogurt + Cherrios - BFF!

Yogurt + Cherrios - BFF!

 

I used about 2/3 of the cup = 100 calories. I decided to save the rest for another day!

Not too pretty but tastes great!

Not too pretty but tastes great!

 

I almost forgot to mention I had one of these with lunch! This is my 2nd one in 2 days, so it’s time to take a breather from the soda, which is totally not a problem. I don’t know if you can see me or not, I just liked the shiny, reflective can…and the pic of my doggie in the background 🙂

Can you see me?

Can you see me?

 

When I got home, I walked the dog and waited for dinner to be done. It was pretty good, but I think I’m starting to get tired of steak. I like ordering it at restaurants once in a while but eating it once a week at home is a little much. But my husband has a lot of meat in the fridge we wanted to use up before we go restock at Sam’s this weekend — perhaps I can talk him into not buying any steak this time?

Steak, broccoli, mushrooms, whole wheat roll w/ Promise

Steak, broccoli, mushrooms, whole wheat roll w/ Promise

 

For dessert, I had two chocolate graham cracker sheets with hazelnut spread, which I have to say is not quite as good as the cinnamon graham crackers. I wasn’t disappointed or anything, but it just didn’t do it for me like other things have. That may have been one of my issues last night.

Chocolate on chocolate

Chocolate on chocolate

 

We watched “His Name was Jason”, a documentary on the Friday the 13th series that was pretty funny. I liked how they dug up a lot of the old cast members from the early movies. The new movie (remake/revisioning) is being released next Friday (the 13th, ahhh!) and I think my husband and I are going to see it on V-Day, how romantic 😉

It was in the 9:00 hour when I just got this feeling. It wasn’t hunger…it might’ve been boredom…or lack of satisfaction from dessert. I even said to myself, I should just have a cup of tea and I should have, but instead I chose to make a little snack:

Tortilla chips + 2% shredded cheese

Tortilla chips + 2% shredded cheese

 

It was a really small amount, so I was okay with it, but then I went back for another serving of chips, but I still portioned it out into a small bowl. At least I still have some control, haha 🙂 But seriously, I didn’t need to eat that last night, especially right before bed, so I decided to try and be more conscious the next time a feeling like that one comes up and maybe go back to having a “cut off time” for eating. Hopefully next time, I will just make a nice cup of tea!

Happy Friday!!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 6, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Aw do you have a beagle? When I was growing up we had bassets but one of them was a beagle/basset mix and she looks like your dog. Thanks for the review of the Think bar. I always get the chocolate coconut think bar (two thumbs up by the way) and wondered how the other bars were.

    HAPPY FRIDAY 🙂

Leave a Reply

