Deadly combination

The title refers to what I had at the end of the night, which you will have to wait and see…

For breakfast on Sunday, I tried a new product that we picked up at the store this weekend: Bagelfuls. Basically, they are twinkie-shaped bagels, stuffed with cream cheese. We opted for the cinnamon flavor since we both like it:

sundaybreak3

Nutritionally, they are not so bad. They contain 200 calories per “twinkie” (haha) and they are really good for quick, easy, grab-n-go breakfasts. I decided to just have one and then bulk up breakfast with protein and fruit:

Bagelful, turkey sausage, clementines

Bagelful, turkey sausage, clementines

 

The bagel twinkie tasted great and the bagel was soft and chewy despite being frozen! My only complaint was the size, but that’s why I added the side items. Here’s a closeup for you:

sundaybreak2

Will I buy these again? Maybe. They are a little pricy for just having 4 in the box (we had a coupon) but like I said, they are really convenient. In fact, the box says that if you keep them in the refrigerator (as opposed to freezing them) you can just grab one and go, no heating required! There are other flavors too, so we’ll see 🙂

Made some breakfast blend coffee and decided to try a new “creamer” — chocolate lowfat milk! Yeah, it’s good, I don’t even need sugar or anything. I just use 1/4 cup.

I tried yet another bar during church because last Sunday I was so hungry after church that I ate everything in site, just about. This one was really great and I would definitely get it again…

Think Organic - Cashew Pecan bar

Think Organic - Cashew Pecan bar

 

I liked this one a lot better than the previous Think bar I had, this one is much more suitable as a snack. I liked the smaller size (and calorie content) not to mention the taste and ingredients. This reminded me of a Larabar, only a little less dense. Gah, I miss peanut butter cookie bars, when is this recall going to be over?! 

Hooray for chewy + nuts!

Hooray for chewy + nuts!

Before our big trip to Sam’s, we decided to go out for lunch and landed at Penn Station, somewhere I haven’t been in a while it seems. I ordered the grilled artichoke sandwich, which, next to the original philly cheesesteak, is my favorite sandwich there! I got baked lay’s too; not my first choice, but they didn’t have Sun Chips 😦
This meal = 540 calories

This meal = 540 calories

 

After our shopping extravaganza, we came back home and  unloaded and took care of our sick doggie (she’s better now, yay). Even in her somewhat ill state, she still wanted to go out and walk so we did a little 2-miler around the neighborhood. Needless to say, I got hungry before dinner, so I had this as a snack:

Banana + PB = <3

Banana + PB = ❤

 

Dinner was pretty great and definitely filling, but I had some emotions going on because of the dog, which is why I think things went a little haywire at dessert. Let’s just say it, emotional eating is a daily battle!

Salmon burger w/ ketchup, pickle, broccoli, wheat roll + Smart Balance

Salmon burger w/ ketchup, pickle, broccoli, wheat roll + Smart Balance

 

Looking back, the calories were a little low with dinner. But still, I know most of this comes from my being stressed out, worried, bored, etc. What’s funny about me though is that I eat stuff that, in normal quantities, wouldn’t be that bad for you. But there is such thing as too much of a good thing, right?

The salmon burger (from Sam’s) was AWESOME! It might take me a while to eat 10 of them, but I’m so glad I got them. They are the perfect size, easy to cook and only 130 calories 🙂

Sugar free pudding + cool whip = no big

Sugar free pudding + cool whip = no big

 

Cheerios + generic nutella....x3!

Cheerios + generic nutella....x3!

 

Even though I’m pointing this out, I should make it clear that I am not guilty. I work hard, work out hard and eat healthfully most of the time. It’s normal for this to happen every once and again, I just like to comment upon the possible reasons so that I have something to look back on and remember. The three servings equal about 1.5 cups of cereal and 3 tbsp hazelnut spread. I didn’t need it, but the damage could’ve been a lot worse.

You will see in future posts that I am getting rather snacky at night — I read recently that this could be due to not eating enough during the day! I didn’t think that was possible, for me, but I guess it could be. What do you guys think? Do you eat more at breakfast and lunch in order to not “graze” at nighttime? Let me know!

p.s. As for the deadly combo…I have decided that I have enough willpower not to combine these two again; because once I do it’s over. But I will eat them individually, reserving the cereal for breakfasts or yogurt snacks and the chocolate hazelnut spread for crackers or morning breads only. Yay, solutions!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 10, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, restaurants, Snacks, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Grilled artichoke sammy?! That sounds delicious!!

    I’m a big grazer but I kind of compensate by not eating huge meals – I’m 100% a volume eater so the more I can eat the happier I am 🙂 I could never be restricted to three square meals a day but that’s just me.

    Have a great Wednesday!!

Leave a Reply

