Jambalaya!

Saturday was a pretty awesome day if I do say so myself. I think a day can totally be determined by how it got started sometimes. You know how if you have lots of mishaps at home, oversleep or lock your keys in the car at work how the rest of your day seems to be terrible? Well, starting off positively can have the same affect, thank goodness 🙂

Pumpkin PB oats!

Pumpkin PB oats!

 

I hadn’t had pumpkin oats in so long, it was really nice welcoming them back! After breakfast, I went to the mall to meet my family for a walk. Mall-walking is so easy and it’s a great alternative when the weather is still too crappy for outdoor activities (I’m not brave enough, haha). We did 4 laps which equals about 5 miles. Afterwards, we got some drinks at Starbuck’s (me – grande iced coffee w/ Splenda + nonfat milk) and sat down to talk for a while. It was great 🙂

By the time I finally got home and walked the dog, I was hungry! I decided to go with what I was craving, which turned out to be this:

PB&J rollup, carrots, chocolate milk

PB&J rollup, carrots, chocolate milk

 

I used a whole wheat tortilla and spread 1 tbsp cashew butter and 1 tbsp preserves and then rolled it up tightly and then sliced it into little bites. It really hit the spot and made me feel like I was eating more than I was.

After lunch, I went to see a movie (“He’s just not that into you” — it was really good! I was surprised) and shopping (mostly window) with my bff Courtney. We hit up a bunch of places, rescuing my husband in between (he locked himself out when he took out the dog), so it was quite an interesting afternoon. Somewhere along the way, we got sleepy, so we went to Starbuck’s and I just got a tall coffee of the day and added Splenda + nonfat milk. I also ate this new discovery:

Organic Food Bar Kid's Oohmega!

Organic Food Bar Kid's Oohmega!

 

I picked this up in the clearance section of Kroger on my Friday walk (I believe it was 50 cents). The brand is Organic Food Bar Kid’s and this particular bar is called “Oohmega!” and is cherry pie flavored. The ingredients list is quite impressive: Organic Cashew Butter, Organic Dates, Organic Agave Nectar, Organic Bio Sprouts™ — Flax, Organic Cherries, Organic Oats, Organic Rice Protein, Lots of Love! 😉

This bar tasted pretty good, not too sweet and held me pretty well for a couple of hours before dinner. I don’t know that I would buy it again for myself, but it is something I would love for my future kids to have as a snack. I have another flavor to review later!

For dinner, we stopped at a cajun favorite: J. Gumbo’s!

I absolutely adore this place because they have so many locations in our city, it’s cheap ($5.99 for the HUGE bowls) and they get the food out so fast. It’s like a fancy homecooked cajun meal only quick and cheap. Make sense? Oh well, here it is, the amazing JAMBALAYA!

)

And yes, I ate ALL of this 🙂

 

I have tried several other things there before, but I think this dish was my favorite so far. It is described as “Tender Chicken & Smoked Sausage slowly simmered with Onions, Green Peppers, Cajun Spices and long-grain Rice.” YUM!

After dinner, we headed over to Barnes ‘n Noble, our home away from home, haha. It’s so much fun to just grab some magazines, sit in the cafe and chat the night away. Since we had already had coffee, we opted for water + dessert:

I love the marshmallow pieces!

I love the marshmallow pieces!

 

I hadn’t had a Barnes ‘n Noble cafe, true crispy rice treat in a LONG time. I really like these better than any other kind and I think this convinced me to just stick to this one and have it every once in a blue moon. It really hit the spot and I didn’t need or crave anything else the rest of the night 🙂

Hope everyone enjoyed their weekends! The weather here has been great since Saturday, we’re hovering around the 50’s right now, with rain. But I’ll take it over freezing temps and snow & ice storms thank you!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 10, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, restaurants, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I wonder if my Kroger has that bar?! Sounds great! I want to see that movie!!

  2. I had never seen these at my Kroger before but I went to the one by my work and found them. It’s weird how different ones can have different things! Good luck. The movie really was cute, I was impressed, went in with low expectations 😉

Leave a Reply

