Lost weekend

Well, folks, it was a wild and crazy weekend! Okay, so not really (haha) but it was fun for the most part, other than having a sick doggie. She is better now but it was hard to deal with and I had to take off yesterday to take her to the vet. But she’s getting back to her old self now 🙂

Friday’s early morning workout + Friday’s lunchtime walk = Very sore on Saturday! But it was totally worth it. I felt great and it was nice getting outdoors and reliving old pasttimes — in the summer, I talk walks down to Kroger and Starbucks regularly just to get out and do some browsing too!

Here are Friday’s eats…

 

The salad dressing pictured above that I used at lunch is a new one for me: Wish-Bone Bountifuls Hearty Italian dressing! This is the one I used on Wednesday night as well. I absolutely love it, it tastes so much more flavorful than other italian dressings I’ve tried and it has REAL bits of tomatoes, onions, peppers and carrots. And probably best of all, it’s only 15 calories for a 2 tbsp serving!! I definitely recommend this dressing and I can’t wait to try the other flavors…I hear there is a berry one, yum!

I had another new flavor of Yoplait Light yogurt – Pineapple Upside Down cake! It was very creamy and actually had bits of pineapple in it. I decided to pair it up with the remaining Cheerios from Thursday — yumalicious! Even though the jury is still out on HFCS, I have purchased a few more flavors to try. Hey, at least I’m getting calcium + Vitamin D, right?!

Also new to me was the awesome discovery of the Celestial Seasonings Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride tea! I had seen this tea on so many other people’s blogs during the holidays and of course the ugly green monster set in, haha. But I found it this weekend on sale, plus I had a coupon, so I couldn’t pass it up. I’m pretty sure it’s the best (sweet tasting) tea I’ve ever had, it really does taste like a sugar cookie in a cup. And it has saved me from eating another dessert several nights 🙂

The huge salad pictured at dinner was my first experience at the burger haven Red Robin! Sadly, I was not in the mood for a burger, but this salad was amazing. It’s appropriately called the apple harvest chicken salad as it contains apples (green + red), grilled chicken, candied walnuts, and goat cheese all on top of a bed of greens and served with dijon vinaigrette (which I got on the side and only used 1/2 of one of the containers they gave me!). I ate the entire thing and really felt good about getting so many of the food groups in at dinner. I’d never had goat cheese on a salad before and it was incredible, the flavors very much complemented each other. It’s something I’d like to try to recreate at home. My husband got the mushroom burger, which looked amazing as well 🙂

Oops! Not pictured – I had a tall skinny vanilla latte at Starbuck’s after dinner and while walking around the mall with my husband 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 10, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, restaurants, Snacks, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Aw glad to hear your puppy is feeling better! Thanks for the heads up on the dressing – I was wondering how they were 🙂

    Q: did you use water or milk with the tea? I have it but I’m not much of a tea fan (I think the flavors are really bland).

  2. I just use water, I typically don’t add anything to tea unless it’s really bland and then I do just a little bit of sugar and maybe a splash of milk. But this particular one, I just use water 🙂

Leave a Reply

