Do what you can

women_running

Today’s workout was a little different. I do all cardio on MWF because I strength train on T-Th and while I would love to be able to just hop on the tread and run 5 miles, I’m not quite there yet. I used to be, but I laid off for a while and now I realize how hard I was working this time last year, for real!

But, I decided it doesn’t matter if I walk, run or walk/run. I’m moving, sweating and burning nonetheless. As long as that’s going on, it doesn’t matter. I have nothing to prove anymore, I know what I’m capable of. Plus, there’s a certain point when if you push yourself too much, it becomes unenjoyable. A little discomfort can be good, an ego boost even, but too much just burns you out too soon.

So, in that spirit, today I walk/ran 3 miles in 41 minutes and I’m quite pleased. Each mile was broken up into 4 laps on the treadmill (0.25 mile each) and I would walk one, run one and switch up the speeds and inclines as I went along. According to the machine, I burned about 350 calories, maybe a little less depending on its margin of error. Does anyone know what that is? Some people say it gives you too much and others not enough. Hmm…

Anyway, here are my stats:

Time: 45:00

Distance: 3.18 miles

Pace: 13:36 mile (I only calculated the first three miles because the last chunk was cool down)

Calories burned: 358 (?)

Can’t wait for another early morning workout tomorrow, today’s was good, but I much prefer getting things going first thing in the morning! 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 11, 2009, in exercise. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Way to go, Sarah! You’ll be back to doing your 5 miles in no time!

  2. Hooray!! As long as your moving that’s great!

Leave a Reply

