We’re in for stormy weather

Morning everyone! Hope this Wednesday finds you all well and safe. We’re having some severe winds here today with the possibility of severe thunderstorms and tornadoes. Yikes. Weather doesn’t really “scare” me but it’s never fun to deal with the aftermath. Hopefully we won’t have any damage or power outages again!

I’m still pondering how to get control of my late night snacking, in the long term. It’s okay to do every once in a while but I don’t want it to keep becoming a habit off and on. I probably do need to eat more during the day but the former dieter in me sometimes just won’t let me break through that wall. Hmm…

Multigrain cheerios, 1% milk, banana

Multigrain cheerios, 1% milk, banana

 

Since yesterday was Tuesday, that can only mean one thing: Early morning workout! I’m not being sarcastic when I say that I really look forward to these days when I get up at 5 a.m., haha. It helps to pack up your stuff the night before too, so all you have to do is eat a quick breakfast (if you can, I can’t go without it) and grab your stuff and get out the door.

Yesterday’s workout

Cardio – 20 minutes Elliptical trainer, level 5-6

Chest presses – 12.5 lbs, 2×12

Shoulder presses – 7.5 lbs, 2×12 (someone was using the 10 lb’ers!)

Bicep curls – 12.5 lbs, 2×12

Tricep extensions – 12.5 lbs (1 dumbbell only), 2×12

Wall squats using stability ball – 2 x 10

Lunges – 2 x 10, each leg

Back extensions on balance ball – 2 x 15

Clamshell crunches (aka “double crunch”) – 2 x 15

Bicycle crunches – 2 x 30

Coffee + chocolate milk

Coffee + chocolate milk

 

I love that I don’t have to use sugar or substitute now (even though I know the milk has sugar in it). It’s at least something to try for a while!

Mid-morning, I had a bar to hold off my hunger until lunch time. This one is also from the Organic Food Bar Kid’s line, this time the Keerunch! Chocolate brownie was the flavor.

tusedayamsnack

This one tasted okay, a little chewy, but if I’m going to eat a kid’s bar that is chocolate brownie flavor, I’ll take a Z bar please 😉 Here’s a closeup, just for your viewing pleasure…

tuesdaybar2

An old favorite

An old favorite

 

I don’t know what my recent deal with the frozen dinners is. I didn’t eat them for months, maybe even a year! But I guess things have gotten busier and I’m going for convenience and also I was getting burned out with what I had been eating for lunch a lot of days, like veggie burgers, tuna, etc.

The Smart Ones Tuna Noodle Gratin is an old favorite of mine, I used to get this one a lot back in my frozen dinner days. It’s like a lighter tuna noodle casserole and very much portion controlled. The whole serving contains 240 calories (and 15g of protein), which I knew wouldn’t be enough, so I had two clementines and a cup of lemon tea to go with it.

tuesdaylunch

Yoplait apple turnover + nectarine

Yoplait apple turnover + nectarine

I never thought this would happen…but this apple turnover flavor of yoplait, while in a prettier container, has got NOTHING on the Kroger brand French Apple Pie (yum), which also has fewer calories and no HFCS. So at least I can rule this one out now! The nectarine was awesome, very sweet and juicy. I love changing of seasons, keeps things interesting.

That snack was good but it didn’t hold me over so well because when I got home, I was starving and dinner was still about an hour away. I snacked on some mini pretzels and they worked like a charm (1 serving is 21 pretzels = 110 calories):

Mmm, salty!

Mmm, salty!

Dinner was great, have I mentioned how much I love the George Foreman?! It can make meat in half the time the oven does, plus you don’t have to heat up your whole house (unless you want to, haha). I grilled up some lean pork chops (which the husband agreed to, instead of steak for a while) and had some edamame and a whole wheat roll with smart balance on the side.

BBQ sauce for dipping!

BBQ sauce for dipping!

I realize looking back that I was way low in veggies yesterday so hopefully I can make some headway on that today!

After dinner, we let our stomachs settle and then went to play volleyball for 2 hours! Between that and the workout I got earlier, I burned over 600 calories today. So dessert was well-deserved I’d say, right?

Pudding with cool whip (using it up!)

Pudding with cool whip (using it up!)

I like cool whip, but I’m not a big fan of the fact that they put trans fats in it — once I use these up, I won’t buy them again for a while. But I just hate to waste things and since they were already open I didn’t think I could give them away to someone.

Before bed, I did feel like I actually needed another snack, something with carbs + fiber to fill me up and help me relax. I’ve read that you should eat a carby (not sugary though) snack at night because it does something to make you sleepy. Anyone else heard that?

I was a good girl and measured out exactly 1 cup of Honey Nut Cheerios and then took the little bowl and got away from the kitchen. Once I was done I downed a glass of water, brushed my teeth and went to bed. Hooray, victory!

tuesdaynitesnack

Happy Wednesday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 11, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I agree – the aftermath of the weather is the worst part!!

    I tried that yoplait yogurt before and the “apple chunks” creeped me out 😦

    Yep! I’ve heard the carb before bed thing before so I gladly chow down the bread 🙂

  2. Stay safe! It went through here around 3am this morning, thunder/lightning and some wind. Still pretty windy here now but no damage, Thank God! Maybe they will fizzle out before they reach you. Here’s hoping!

    I also struggle with nighttime eating. And it’s almost always carb-y stuff like snacking on dry cereal (my personal fave). I find if I brush my teeth, it helps. And I know, too, that if I can fight the urge to snack for just one evening, the next evening I don’t want it as much. I guess I form habits easy! Hang in there! Love~

  3. You are right, brushing teeth or chewing gum really does help. I’m glad I’m not the only one with a nighttime dry cereal problem, haha. Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

