Pumpkin with a twist

For breakfast yesterday, I made my usual pumpkin + PB oats, only I added a twist…RAISINS! They were fantastic! I had been a little hesitant to combine the two, even though I had seen pumpkin raisin muffins and cookies before. I’m so glad I finally did! I also used sliced almonds in this mix and it was really a great bowl 🙂

wednesdaybreak

 

At work, I had some coffee + chocolate milk (latest obsession) and mid-morning, I had some lightly salted cashews to fuel me for my pre-lunch workout:

amsnack2

After my 3.18 mile walk/run at the gym, I waited a bit for lunch. When I chug lots of water at the gym, I’ve noticed my appetite stays suppressed a bit longer than usual. But when I finally was ready, I pulled out my stash:

Salmon wrap, broccoli, clementines

Salmon wrap, broccoli, clementines

Unfortunately, the broccoli tasted kind of funky, don’t know why — but I only got through half of it before I gave up. My veggie intake the past couple of days has been lame, but I’ll keep striving for more over the next few days!
After lunch, I had two little sweet morsels of heaven that I had stashed in my desk drawer in the morning when my co-worker laid out a plate of brownies she made. They were so moist, I literally didn’t have to chew them much. Since it was just two little pieces, I counted them like I would a normal 2-inch size brownie.
lunch22
It was the perfect finale to lunch!
Later in the afternoon, I broke out another Yoplait light yogurt and a nectarine. I don’t know if it wasn’t quite ripe yet or perhaps too ripe (?) but it was hard and not very sweet 😦 I ate most of it anyway because I was hungry but I was slightly disappointed. The yogurt was just ok, another flavor that didn’t blow me away. Lemon meringue pie used to be my favorite kind of pie but since I don’t love that anymore, I should’ve known I wouldn’t love this either. Next time, I’m getting 5 cinnamon roll flavor! Haha.
pmsnack

 

When I got home, I was hungry again big time! I think I either burned through the food I ate or didn’t eat enough during the day. So I made a quick and clever snack…pretzels with fake Nutella! So good and so not dangerous…I counted out half a serving of pretzels and figured I probably used 0.5-1 tbsp of the chocolate stuff.

pmsnack2

The girl’s night potluck was amazing! Margie made falafel, one of our favorite quirky restaurant dishes, and it was so good. In a pita pocket, you stuff in some lettuce, hummus, the falafel balls, and then drizzle some tahini on top…YUM. On the side, I had another half piece of pita with some red pepper hummus and some carrots — yay, veggies!

weddinner

Dessert was my part this week, I had been craving ice cream for a while, plus I had a ton of berries in my fridge, so I opted for ice cream + berry bowls. I had about a cup of Edy’s french vanilla ice cream (the 1/2 kind) and a sprinkle of blueberries, blackberries and strawberries. Sorry the pic is not so great, I really need to get a real camera!

weddessert

It was good to have another day where I was totally pleased with my choices and my workout. I seem to be having more of those days here lately 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 12, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Falafel, pita, hummus, and carrots?! That dinner is a dream come true!!

Leave a Reply

