V-day 2009

I can’t believe this is mine and my husband’s 10th valentine’s day together! And it was a good one…probably second only to 2003 and when got engaged (actually that was February 12th). This year was a little more unconventional, but totally us which made it special. First things first though.

Pumpkin raisin oats + carrot cupcake, almonds, PB

Pumpkin raisin oats + carrot cupcake, almonds, PB

Starbucks' Skinny vanilla latte (tall)

Starbucks' Skinny vanilla latte (tall)

After my coffee treat, I went to my mom’s and did some cleaning, which ended up being my exercise for the day. I actually woke up really tired and headache-y on Saturday morning so I knew if I was going to survive the long day and night that I need not overdo it with too much exercise.
Leftover sandwich + pickle

Leftover sandwich + pickle

I was running late so I ate this lunch in the car (my husband was driving!): the sandwich is more turkey, cheese, lettuce & tomato but this time with light mayo. It was so good! I think I’m hooked on sandwiches again, no more frozen dinners for a while!
We were running late to make the 12:20 showing of the new “Friday the 13th” movie…romantic? Oh yeah! Haha.
When we got back home, I had a few of these…
saturdaylunch2
Later in the afternoon, I got hungry again and realized I needed some more fruits & veggies in my life, especially since I’d probably be having fast food for dinner!
saturdaysnack
saturdaysnack2
Around 4, we drove an hour away to a nearby city to see a concert! In 1999, when my husband and I first got together, our “thing” was going to see tons of rock and heavy metal concerts together, usually at least one a month, back before we had bills, rent and responsibilities, haha. So we sort of relived the glory days, enjoying Slipknot, Coheed & Cambria and Trivium on stage Saturday night.
Before the show, we ate at the food court. I chose Arby’s because I had a sandwich for lunch so Subway didn’t seem appealing, even though it would’ve been the healthier choice. Oh well! This meal was actually pretty good and I talked myself out of any crazy desserts before the show started (there’s actually a fudge shop in the same building!).
Small roast beef + curly fries

Small roast beef + curly fries

On the way home, we enjoyed another favorite past time…hitting the gas station for some snacks! It had been almost 6 hours since we’d eaten dinner, so snacks are always a must! I chose another Nature Valley bar, this time the Oats & Honey, which I knew I liked and I also ended up having half of one of my husband’s 3 Musketeers bars…he wanted to give me a whole one (it was the package with 2 in them) but I chose to just have half, which was 100 calories. I was proud of myself again!
Sorry no pics, it was late and dark and I pretty much inhaled everything. We had a great time! Hope you all enjoyed V-day, whatever you did 🙂
p.s. OOPS! I almost forgot…the husband gave me dark chocolate covered cherries for V-day (!) and I had one when we got home 🙂
About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 16, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dinner, Lunch, Snacks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Aw what a fabulous Vday! Love that you guys saw a horror movie – that sounds like something I would do 🙂

Leave a Reply

