Another long Monday

I’ve said it before and I will say it again…I’m so glad my long day is at the beginning of the week! Last night, while I was watching “24” with my husband, I was so glad the day was coming to an end 🙂

I was super hungry yesterday from after lunch on, the morning wasn’t so bad, probably because I had a higher calorie breakfast than normal. But I definitely listened and ate when I was hungry and tried to not let myself get carried away. I feel good about everything I consumed yesterday, so I must’ve done something right!

Frozen waffles, PB, banana, SF syrup, chocolate milk

Frozen waffles, PB, banana, SF syrup, chocolate milk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I had a coupon for a free box of Eggo Buttermilk waffles, so that is what these are. They are not whole grain, so they are rather low in fiber, but other than that, they are pretty good: low sugar, fairly low calories (90 per waffle), etc. I would like to try some of the other flavors, but these were pretty good tasting. My only complaint is that they aren’t very dense, which is one of the things I love about the Van’s brand waffles.

At work, I had a cup of coffee with 1 packet of Sugar in the Raw. I’m proud to announce that today…I am drinking it completely free of anything (aka black)! 🙂

A.M. snack - lightly honey roasted peanuts

A.M. snack - lightly honey roasted peanuts

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This snack held me for nearly 4 hours and through a 60-minute cardio workout! I love nuts 🙂

Ham sandwich, brussels, pickle, clementines

Ham sandwich, brussels, pickle, clementines

My sandwich yesterday was so good! It was on a light wheat bun and contained 3 slices of Hormel natural deli ham, 1 slice of 2% american cheese, some mustard, and a tomato slice. Gotta love leftovers! I’m on a huge pickle kick lately, I bought a big jar at Sam’s last time we went. And no, it’s not what you think 😉 I had missed brussels sprouts too (never thought I would say that in my lifetime!) so it was good to have those again, I sprinkled a bit of salt + pepper on them, which is all they need.
After lunch, maybe an hour or so, I got HANGRY! I don’t use that word lightly…haha. So I went ahead and broke into my afternoon snack. Another Detour bar!
Ha, I did ride a bike yesterday!

Ha, I did ride a bike yesterday!

Yummy!

Yummy!

Behold, the Detour Biker – Toffee Almond bar! As soon as I opened the package, viewed and smelled this bar, I knew it was going to be great. I had no idea what a fan of toffee I am, though I remember liking the Muscle Milk light toffee bar, just not the trans fat it contained 😦
Anyway, this bar was really tasty! And it didn’t taste fake at all. It was crunchy, as you can see, and like the other flavor I tried last week, it contains a layer of chocolate on the bottom. This bar weighs in at 210 calories and 12 grams of protein. It ended up holding me for about 2.5 hours until I was ready for another snack before my class last night.
I hope I can find more of these bars somewhere! I’m pretty sure the Kroger clearance section was the first time I had ever seen them, so I will have to go looking again. They have lots of other flavors for lots of other activities. I definitely recommend the two I have had so far.
Yoplait Whips! Strawberry Mist

Yoplait Whips! Strawberry Mist

I’m nearing the end of my giant Yoplait stash that I got a couple of weeks ago. This is my first attempt at trying the Whips! line which is a lighter, fluffier yogurt, which I think is meant to be more like a dessert. I think if I ever bought this particular one again, that is what I would get it for, dessert. When it comes to afternoon snacks, I really need to amp up the protein and have something a bit more substantial to hold me over.
As far as taste goes though, I really enjoyed this flavor and the consistency was very appealing — it’s just what  you’d imagine whipped yogurt would be like. Sort of like whipped cream 🙂
mondayyogurt21
mondayyogurt3
This and the protein bar held me decently but I had to stop at the store on the way home too, so when I got home, I was sooo ready for dinner and needed something quick!
Veggie burger, Green Giant vegetables

Veggie burger, Green Giant vegetables

I changed things up a bit and bought Morningstar Farms Garden Veggie patties this time around instead of my usual Boca original vegan burgers! It was a really good change and I liked actually feeling like I was eating a vegetable patty instead of fake meat (even though I really like those too!). I added a slice of 2% cheese (think I got my calcium today!), a slice of tomato, some light mayo and served it on a wheat bun.
The veggies were something I hadn’t had in a while, but I remembered liking a great deal:
Green Giant - Digestive Health

Green Giant - Digestive Health

This mix contains yellow carrots, white navy beans and chopped spinach in a garlic herb sauce. I was only planning on eating 1 serving, but I was pretty hungry so I went ahead and ate it all. Nothing wrong with a few extra veggies 🙂
After I was done, I was still hungry, so I had a small cup of tortilla chips. The bag is gone!
mondaychips
I was still feeling less than full, so I drank some water and had a couple light desserts before going to bed, which seemed to help:
Jello sugar free pudding w/ fat free reddi-whip

Jello sugar free pudding w/ fat free reddi-whip

1 dark chocolate covered cherry :)

1 dark chocolate covered cherry 🙂

I’m hoping by bulking up my veggies, which I plan to do the rest of this week, I will feel more satisfied throughout the day and there will be less snacking required. But I’m not at all disappointed with how today went and it felt really good getting in a workout. I thank God every day that this is my life now; no longer am I the overweight, unenergetic, sad me. Thank God! 🙂
About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 17, 2009, in Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Toffee – yum!! That yogurt has a really interesting texture, looks good though 🙂

    I’m a Kashi girl but I bought Eggo cinnamon waffles and they’re pretty good. They made my house smell like cinnamon buns but I agree, they’re a little too light!

  2. oooh I just fouund your blog and OOOOH i like it!! I’ll definitely be back and thanks so much for linking to the cheerios giveaway!!

Leave a Reply

