Being thankful

I just got back from the gym and I have to be honest, I am really struggling. I wouldn’t say I’m discouraged really, but just confused more than anything. I know I haven’t trained at all like I did this time last year, but I just don’t understand why I can’t run more than a mile without feeling like I’m going to die?!

I had originally thought I could train and perhaps run the mini-marathon again this year; which I ran for the first time last April. But it’s nearly the end of February and I’m already so behind in my training. January really got away from me and our huge snow/ice storm didn’t help. I guess in a way, I just haven’t been feeling it yet this year.

At the gym – I warmed up for 5 minutes walking, then I ran a mile, walked another 0.25 mile, then ran for 10 minutes, then cooled down for 5. Here are my stats:

Time: 35 minutes

Distance: 2.65 miles

Calories burned (approximate): 302

I’m definitely not disappointed with that as a workout! It always feels good to move and sweat, even if it’s just for 30 minutes a day. And just the fact that I can walk, I can exercise, and I even can run, a little bit…for all of those things I am very thankful.

I’m just not feeling much like a runner anymore and part of me is saddened by that. I know if I want to keep it up, I need to devote more time to it and not make so many excuses to avoid it (weather!) and do other things. But perhaps it’s just not meant to be, this year anyway? I don’t know; I’m rather confused!

Fellow Runners: Any advice? Did you ever train for a big race and then get burned out, take a break and got “out of shape” afterwards? What did you do to get back into it? What motivated you?

Thanks guys!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 18, 2009, in running, workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I, too, have spent the last five months being grateful to be able to run AT ALL. But I know when you’re not where you want to be, physically, it can be disappointing. After I ran my 1/2 marathon 2 years ago I kept up my training mileage because I didn’t want to “lose” any of the endurance and strength that I had built up…that was my motivation. After awhile it just became “my normal.”

    If I were you, I wouldn’t put too much pressure on myself for this race. I know that if I have a daunting run in front of me it is much harder to do than if I start with smaller goals and go from there. Like if I have an 5 mile goal for one day, I will tell myself, “just do 30 minutes, walking or running, it doesn’t matter, just 30 minutes,” and most of the time when I get to 30 minutes I will be more motivated to keep going; even if I have to “coach” myself through 5 minutes increments. For some reason, it just works for me.

    I don’t know if all this helps you or not, but don’t be discouraged, you’re doing more than a huge percent of the population already! Seriously, though, be proud of your accomplishments and what you CAN do! Oh, and you ARE a RUNNER! In my mind, runner is not defined by time, mileage, or races, it’s by the fact that you love to run, whether it’s 2x/week or 6!

    PS- I liked your comment about my bologna sandwich! I think it was definitely driven from a childhood-esque memory. Who would’ve thought that my ultimate comfort food would be bologna?! lol

  2. Erica – Yes, my dear, your comment helps tremendously! I think I am definitely putting too much pressure on myself so I may take a step back and not worry so much about the race and just focus on my running in general and gradually. A friend of mine does a half marathon every other year, so maybe I can adopt that sort of tradition. I’m still thinking about that bologna, haha, I may have to have a sandwich here soon just for old times sake 😉

  3. I’m really sorry I don’t have any tips for running! I have never been a “runner,” I much prefer lifting weights. I really hope you can get back into the groove again or find another form of exercise that you enjoy 🙂

  1. Pingback: Feeling like me again « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

