Housework wins

Early yesterday afternoon, I started thinking that volleyball just wasn’t a good idea this week — I have a ton of housework to catch up on (we have family coming over on Sunday) and my husband is still sick, plus I was pretty tired from getting an early start, so I talked myself into staying home last night. Not necessarily a bad thing; it meant I got to watch the entire episode of The Biggest Loser at once. I have to say, I like everybody on there this season unlike last year where I hated almost everybody toward the end, except for Michelle who won. I’m so glad there’s more likeable people on there right now, makes it easier to root for them! 🙂

Anyway, here’s what went in yesterday!

Honey nut cheerios, 1% milk, banana

Honey nut cheerios, 1% milk, banana

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My darling clementines ;-)

My darling clementines 😉

There’s a lot that went into lunch, so I feel I should explain it. I brought a Morningstar Farms garden veggie patty (with 2% american cheese, tomato slice, ketchup) but I totally forgot the freakin’ bun! I was disappointed at first, but all the veggies I ate were very filling: Green Giant “just one” broccoli and cheese, carrots & hummus (not pictured), and a pickle! This was a very satisfying lunch and I was very pleased with my fruit and veggie intake by the end of the day.
tuesdaylunch1
Last week at the store, I bought a new ketchup to try out:
Heinz "One Carb" reduced sugar ketchup

Heinz "One Carb" reduced sugar ketchup

Basically, this ketchup is the same as regular Heinz, only it contains no HFCS and most of the sugar is replaced with Sucralose. It contains 5 calories per tablespoon compared to 15 for regular ketchup. I think it’s a good change for our household…my husband is at risk for Type-2 diabetes (family history) so anything I can do to reduce his sugar intake is probably a good idea. Plus it tastes pretty good, I had some on my veggie burger!
I had a craving for chocolate after lunch so I picked out 2 Hershey’s Bliss dark chocolates from my stash. I got tired of the same boring desktop background, so I put them on a picture of my doggie 🙂
tuesdaychocolate1
After I unwrapped and completely savored one, I realized that was all I needed, so I put the 2nd piece back for another time 🙂 I like the size of these, I think that makes it easy to eat just one, at least for me…
tuesdaychocolate2
I had lunch kind of early yesterday so I dug into my yogurt early too…
Yoplait Light rasperry cheesecake

Yoplait Light rasperry cheesecake

Okay, so I now have three Yoplait flavors I would buy again: Cinnamon Roll, Very Cherry and Rasperry cheesecake. This one was very tasty! I think overall, I prefer the “Thick and Creamy” ones the best, but for just a regular light yogurt, this one was pretty delightful.
I had a meeting around 3 where there was food and I was pretty darn proud of myself for having restraint. I ate all of the fruit and only two bites of what I think was some kind of raisin bread. It was good, but I wasn’t really hungry and didn’t want to blow calories on something I didn’t absolutely love:
tuesdaymeeting
Before I left work, I was hungry again and I knew it would be a while before I had dinner, so I went ahead and ate my other snack I brought…a Wasa cracker and a slice of 2% american cheese (just 80 calories!):
tuesdaypmsnack2
There were leftovers from the meeting, including chocolate iced brownies, but I said no and I really felt good about my decision to just eat this snack I brought, which was perfectly satisfying, I swear to you!
tuesdaypmsnack3
This was also a fun snack for me because it means I have used up all the crackers, which I’ve had for quite some time, and I can now venture out and try some new ones…can anyone say Kashi?! YAY! If you have some cracker suggestions, I would love to hear them. I love the Wasa line but I’ve had all of them now and want to try some new brands just to experiment.
When I got home, my ill husband made dinner (bless him) and it was also another very colorful meal:
Sausage with peppers & onions on wheat bun, side of veggies + red potatoes

Sausage with peppers & onions on wheat bun, side of veggies + red potatoes

The veggies were one of my favorite Green Giant mixes — can you tell Green Giant was on sale this week? And I totally had coupons. I think I got 4-5 different products (two small boxes, a package of 4 “Just One” containers, and one 19 oz bag) for less than $5, love it! 🙂
After dinner, I immediately ate another dark chocolate covered cherry my husband gave me for V-day. I thought I’d give you a picture of the inside this time, it kind of exploded on me as I was eating it…
tuesdaydinner2
We watched a movie, Zack and Miri, which was okay; it was sweet and pretty darn hilarious — it had lots of Kevin Smith’s humor (he’s the director), which I appreciate, but quite a bit vulgar too, but I shouldn’t be surprised considering the subject matter. We have a subscription to Blockbuster online, so we still have two more movies at home to watch and send back hopefully this week!
After the movie, I did some laundry, dishes and watched “The Biggest Loser” and by 9:00 I was ready for a snack!
Wheat bun with 1 tbsp chocolate hazelnut spread

Wheat bun with 1 tbsp chocolate hazelnut spread

This really hit the spot and I didn’t require or even desire another snack the rest of the night. Yesterday was a red letter day, I was very pleased. I found one of my old notebooks that I used to jot down food and exercise in last night, so it was fun looking through that, especially after my post yesterday about calorie counting. I was inspired, so I went ahead and planned out all my meals and snacks for today, which made it easy to get going when I got up this morning!
Hope you all had a good Tuesday, “see” you again soon!
About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 18, 2009, in biggest loser, Breakfast, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, products, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a fabulous way to end the night! Sorry you forgot the bun!!

Leave a Reply

