It’s amazing

Hello, blog friends. Hope you are having lovely Fridays wherever you are. It’s cold here but the wind is calm and the sun is shining and that makes for a beautiful day in my opinion 🙂

I just got back from my Friday workout — I met my running partner Jessica for a mutual run/walk on the treadmills. It had been a long time since we’d been able to hook up and I have to say it’s amazing to have someone there with you, in the same boat as you, supporting and pushing you along. I have done a complete 180 from two days ago. I AM a runner doggone it. 🙂

I think I have come to the conclusion that I have to stop competing with myself. Yes, last year I ran really good times in a 5K, 10K, 10-miler and half-marathon. That’s awesome! But I don’t have anything to prove…I don’t have to beat those times, especially when I have not trained myself nearly as well this year as I did last year. I need to just clean the slate and take in the fact that I’m going to do all of these again, just in a different way. Perhaps a change of scenery! And this year, I won’t be alone.

I started out walking for 5 minutes, then I ran at 5.1 for a few minutes, then gradually jogged my way back down to 4.0 and walked some more (something Jessica taught me; she has a heart condition so she has to “gradually” slow down). Then I walked for 3-4 minutes and started jogging at 4.5 increasing gradually up to 5.0, then back down gradually again. Then I walked a few minutes, went up to 4.6 and slowly up to 5.2 and then back down. I promise to be a little more technical next time, but I was just “feeling” it out and I have to say, this worked really, really well for me. I still did more running (jogging) than walking!

Here are my stats:

Time: 45:00

Distance: 3.18 miles

Pace: 14:09 / mile

Calories (approximate/overestimated): 382

Yeah, I’ve gone longer. And faster. But for where I am right now, I’m awfully darn proud of that!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 20, 2009, in accomplishments, running, Walking, workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Great job, Sarah! What a great workout! And a great frame of mind, too.

    You ARE a runner, darn it!!

  2. Good job!! Don’t beat yourself up about anything – the fact that you’re working out at all is fabulous, there aren’t many people who are as committed as you are!

  3. Great Eats and just keep on goingt. How do those yougrts taste and where did you buy the those ymmy pure protein squares?

  1. Pingback: Feeling like me again « River City Fitness

Leave a Reply

