On the agenda

Last night, my husband and I decided to watch “Mirrors” which was pretty disappointing, I have to say. I have been sort of nonplussed with horror movies as of late. The new “Friday the 13th” was pretty good but the rentals…not so much. Anyway, while I was enjoying some much needed rest time on the couch, I also unfortunately participated in some non-required eating that won’t make it onto the blog because my battery died and I wasn’t able to photograph it…coincidence? Since I’m all about honesty, I had about a cup of Honey Nut Cheerios with 1 spoonful of chocolate hazelnut dip and a few handfuls of Hot Tamales candy. Huh?!

Anyway, it got me thinking…what do I need to do to break myself of this habit? I think part of it is that I’m bored with certain foods. So at the grocery store tonight, my plan is to get a bunch of stuff I haven’t had in a while and not buy some of the things that have been hanging out at the house forever. I may even check out some of your all’s recipes and have some fun. I need lots of fruits and veggies for sure, maybe some new ones or a mix I haven’t tried already. I need to be more satisfied with what I am eating throughout the day so that I don’t go wandering at night. Going back through some old journals has given me inspiration to get some things I haven’t had in a while.

For example, I used to eat veggie burgers on 2 slices of thick whole wheat bread with a slice of 2% cheddar cheese and fresh spinach leaves. I even wrote in my journal how satisfying that was. So it’s on the list!

I also think I need to not keep certain foods in the house, ahem, chocolate hazelnut spread. At least for a while. It’s not that I can’t control myself at all, it’s just that sometimes it’s better to not even have it as an option to fight with yourself about. Does that make sense? Some “red light” foods for me are cereal, tortilla chips, Nutella (or the generic), graham crackers, etc. 

I’m also wondering if there is something to this theory that HFCS and artificial sweeteners (which are present in so many things I have, especially diet sodas) actually make you crave more to eat, especially sweet stuff? I’m considering following the leads of Caitlin and Lindsay and doing my own version of a “Crap Free Week“. Basically this week would break you of most “convenience” foods and detox you from stuff containing lots of chemicals our bodies don’t need anyway. I will have to research this more and see what my own specific guidelines would entail. More on that later!

I’m really excited because today I am meeting with my running partner…we haven’t been able to get together much the past couple of months and we’re around the same level so we can really push each other. We’re already planning on working out for an hour and my goal today is to run at least one mile in that time; if it ends up being more, that’s great, but I’m not going to put unrealistic demands on myself. One step at a time!

So on the agenda today:

– Make awesome grocery list

– Sweaty workout

– Run at least 1 mile

– Thank God for everything I have

– Don’t sweat the small stuff!

Hope you guys have an amazing Friday, TGIF!

Here’s to new beginnings 🙂

ro15v13

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 20, 2009, in challenges, changes, detox, exercise, experiments, mindless eating, workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. HAPPY FRIDAY!! I’m excited to see how you change it up 🙂

  2. “Non-required eating” = cracks me up! I do this too! And we have many of the same trigger foods: cereal, crackers, cereal, tortilla chips, cereal, etc.

    Have fun with your running partner! I wish I somebody with the same-type schedule as me that had about the same mileage. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to find anybody:-( I guess my treadmill is my running buddy…I need to name it, or her?

    LOVE the verse!

Leave a Reply

