My own CFW

After following the blogs of Caitlin, Lindsay, and a few others who have tried something called a “Crap Free Week” I couldn’t help but want to do it myself. Since I document what I eat every day, I can see that I do take in lots of crap without realizing it a lot of times. And I know that when I eat crap, I feel like crap. And that’s no fun.

I reviewed everyone’s guidelines and made modifications to suit my lifestyle. I only drink one cup of coffee most days, so I didn’t see the need to cut that out at all. I am however, addicted to diet soda even though the chemicals in these things haunt my sleep at night. I went for a long time without having them before so I know I can do it again!

I also don’t feel like I need to cut out cereals or breads as long as they are 100% whole grain and don’t contain a lot of sugar or HFCS. I also added a few notes about behaviors I hope to change through this process.

So here it is folks, starting today…

Sarah’s Crap Free Week rules

Crap Free Week is : Monday, February 23rd – Monday, March 2nd

To Enjoy:

          Fruits & veggies (whole or frozen)

          Lean proteins (chicken, turkey, pork, salmon, tuna)

          Beans, nuts

          Nut butters (all-natural only, no added oils)

          Whole grains: bread, cereal, brown rice, etc.

          Yogurt (with no HFCS or artificial sweeteners)

          Lowfat or fat free dairy products (milk, cheese, yogurt)

          Soy products & meat replacements (i.e. veggie burgers)

          Water, tea and coffee

To Avoid:

          Sodas (all)

          High Fructose Corn Syrup

          Trans fats (hydrogenated oils)

          Sucralose, Aspartame, Nutrisweet, etc. (artificial sweeteners)

          Added sugars

          Enriched or refined flours

          Candy, ice cream, pudding

–     Chips

          Products high in sodium (canned soup, frozen dinners, etc.)

To Minimize:

          Excess caffeine: Limit to 1 beverage per day (coffee or tea)

          Bars and other convenience snacks, even if they fit CFW criteria

          Sugar free chewing gum

          Sugar alcohols

Focus on:

          Eating more whole foods – fewer processed items

          Learning to eat only when I need to (hunger) and to satisfy that with foods that are better for me, will make me feel better.

          Getting lots of rest (and sleep)

          Exercise!

          Get control of nighttime snacking by eating more (and better) during the day

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 23, 2009, in blogging, challenges. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. GOOD LUCK 😀 You can do it!!

  2. Ok – I think I do pretty well on this anyway right now, that is a good way to put it. I want to know about yogurt (because I eat it, dannon ff light vanilla) and I eat cool whip free. Those aren’t bad in the scheme of things and I probably do 2 diet drinks a week. What are your thoughts?

    • I think that a little bit of artificial sweeteners is probably okay. I don’t eat them because they confuse my body and make me think I am hungry when I’m not. Plus they make things seem sweeter which makes me crave sweet stuff. If it does not do that to you, then the yogurt and two diet drinks a week are fine. I still have a Coke Zero occasionally 😉

  1. Pingback: Whirlwind weekend « See Sarah Eat

  2. Pingback: Successful 2009 « See Sarah Eat

  3. Pingback: What I’m giving up for Lent « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

