Already noticing

I’m only on Day 2 of Crap Free Week and I am already noticing changes!

For one thing, I FEEL BETTER. This was the most important thing about this whole experiment, what I wanted the most out of it. I feel great — my mood, my energy levels, my spirit. It’s all there. I’m in a much more positive frame of mind about my running too. Taking it one day at a time.

I am not constantly thinking about (and craving) food. At work, my mind has the tendency to wander which usually leads to boredom and eating snacks when I’m not hungry. This same thing happens at night at home, especially when I am less than thrilled with dinner. But so far, neither has been an issue! Also, my concentration at work has been better the past two days, hmm…which has in turn kept me from wandering thoughts about food, hmm…

I have been able to actually listen to my body and only eat when I’m hungry instead of following a set of prescribed “rules” of eating for the day. I used to get up every day and say “Ok, breakfast, snack, lunch, snack, dinner, snack…” and I’m realizing that maybe there will be days I won’t need a snack. And there will be days when I need an extra one. Every day is and should be different.

My meals are lasting me longer…since I am eating good foods and really bulking up my actual meals, I have been able to go much longer than I’m used to. Usually 2 hours after lunch, I am ready for a snack but yesterday and today both, I’m hitting the 4 hour mark. This is great because it means I’m not starving when I get home for dinner, which leads to a satisfying dinner, which means no crazy late night snacking. Funny how that all works out.

I really think the elimination of certain ingredients and empty foods, combined with eating more fresh and healthy foods really does have a positive effect on a persons physical and mental health. If you are feeling burned out, tired, bloated, whatever, you should really try something like this. I hope to keep most of these guidelines for myself long term, such as giving up sodas. I don’t see why I spend $1.29 for a bottle of something that is not going to benefit my body in any way. I would rather splurge on something with some value!

Sorry this post is kind of random and disjointed but I just have these thoughts going through my head and wanted to share them. Hope you are all having a blessed day!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 24, 2009, in challenges, changes. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Aren’t the added side effects of CFW so nice?! Keep it up, you’re doing fabulous 🙂

Leave a Reply

