CFW, Day 1

The first day of my self-imposed “Crap Free Week” went really well. In fact, I feel so good that I wish I’d not let things slip so far that I needed to do a CFW. But it’s all good because I am now and hopefully these habits will stick, again 🙂

For breakfast, I used my other package of Kozy Shack Ready Grains and topped it with a banana and a spoonful of peanut butter. I went to Whole Foods this weekend, so this is the 365 brand all natural creamy PB, one of my all-time favorites…it had been forever since I’d had this one. Everyone thinks Whole Foods is such an expensive place to shop and it can be depending on what you buy. But this jar of peanut butter was only $2.19 which is cheaper than the majority of the brands sold at Kroger. Hmm…

9a306c79c674

 

This must’ve been some powerful stuff because I did not eat again until lunchtime! I think on days that I don’t work out in the mornings, I should make it a goal to have a satisfying breakfast that will hold me until lunchtime. I also had some black coffee on the way to work that I made at home.

For lunch, I had a tuna sandwich (tuna + celery + tsp light mayo) on whole wheat bread (with no HFCS!) with spinach leaves; along with some Annie’s cheddar bunnies (where have they been all my life!), broccoli w/ cheese, and an orange.

0a63f01d63750d333ffd8bef

 

This was such a good lunch that it lasted me four hours! This is almost unheard of when I’m at work 🙂

The Annie’s Cheddar Bunnies were amazing. They are like the “goldfish” only with much healthier ingredients. You get 50 bunnies in a serving for 150 calories. When I have sandwiches, sometimes I like to have something a little crunchy like chips or crackers and these were the perfect substitute. Here are some facts about these amazing little things (and they were on sale for $2/box at Target!):

BEST INGREDIENTS: ORGANIC WHEAT FLOUR, ORGANIC EXPELLER PRESSED VEGETABLE OIL (SAFFLOWER AND/OR SUNFLOWER), SALT, ORGANIC CHEDDAR CHEESE (PASTEURIZED MILK, CHEESE CULTURE, SALT, ENZYMES), YEAST EXTRACT, ORGANIC PAPRIKA, ORGANIC ANNATTO EXTRACT FOR NATURAL COLOR, ORGANIC GROUND CELERY SEED, ORGANIC ONION POWDER, YEAST. (** uh oh Kath, onion powder!! haha)

They contain NO sugar, low sodium, 0g trans fat, low Saturated fat, no cholesterol — they do have a few grams of protein but no fiber, that is the only downside. But if you are getting enough elsewhere in your diet, there is no reason why you can’t enjoy this with your meal or as a snack. I will totally be buying them again and I saw that there is a sour cream & onion flavor, so I’ll be on the hunt for those soon!

I chose to exercise after lunch today because of my experience last week with just not feeling very energetic (lack of fuel) and putting in a poor performance. It was definitely better this time! I just did a quick 30 minutes on the treadmill, mostly jogging with just a couple walk breaks. It was awesome! I felt so refreshed and I think it helped me stay focused the rest of the day.

For my afternoon snack, I tried a new yogurt, Voskos Greek Style yogurt. I don’t say this lightly…this may be the best blueberry yogurt I’ve had. It reminded me a lot of the Whole Soy & Co blueberry, only it’s dairy instead. It didn’t have the same thick consistency as most greek yogurts I am used to but it did have tons of protein!

ddf3765306b645d85d9fd1b2

 

 

 

 

 

From the website:

#1 Selling Greek Style Yogurt

Take your taste buds on a Greek extravaganza with Voskos Greek Style Yogurt.  Voskos Greek Style Yogurt is made with live and active cultures and is strained to naturally bring creamy taste and thick, smooth texture without gums or starches.  Straining make Voskos Greek Style Yogurt naturally low in carbs and calories and high in protein. It is delicious eaten alone or mixed with fruits or granola for quick energy snack or breakfast.

Thick & Natural
Smooth & Creamy
 

 

  • Strained

  • All Natural

  • High in Protein

  • High in Calcium

  • Low in Carbs

  • Low in Calories

  • Live and Active Cultures

  • No Artificial Hormones

  • No Trans Fat

  • No Gums

  • No Starches

  • No GMO

I really enjoyed this yogurt and certainly felt satisfied from it with all the protein and none of the nasty ingredients other yogurts have. I really do think there is truth to the idea that artificial ingredients, though low in calories, can actually cause you to crave more food, especially sweet things. This did not happen to me at all today! The orange at lunch was sweet enough and this yogurt carried me through the afternoon with no need for candy or chocolate.

I had class last night until 7, so while I was there, I enjoyed this bad boy, I picked up a box of these at Target after I read that’s where Lindsay found some (she’s my Target twin):

A better 100 calorie pack

A better 100 calorie pack

I’m usually not much for 100 Calorie packs but I made an exception for these! They were also on sale and I saw that they had some cocoa dusted almonds as well, but when I viewed the ingredients I saw Sucralose, bummer. Perhaps I could make my own?
When I got home for some reason I was really in the mood for some beans & rice — luckily I had some on hand 🙂 I got these great cups of brown rice from Minute Rice, which is not just a clever name, it actually only takes 1 minute to cook the rice. I was so stoked, I plan on buying more soon, plus there was a coupon inside the container!
1 cup = 170 calories and lots of yummy (and moist) brown rice!
I topped the rice with some Garbanzo beans (aka chick peas) and had half a sweet potato with Smart Balance and cinnamon on the side. This was the perfect end to a very non-crappy day. I satisfied my hunger, my craving and my nutritional needs, it just doesn’t get much better than that.
226617c0affd
I laid on the couch with the dog and watched “24” with the husband during which I had a cup of Sugar Cookie Sleigh Ride tea and some fruit (blackberries & grapes):
f7e3319e8c0a
Fruit really is a perfect (and definitely crap free) dessert 🙂
Hope you all had a good night, be back real soon!
About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 24, 2009, in Breakfast, challenges, coffee, Dessert, Dinner, exercise, Lunch, products, Snacks. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Well done on your first day!! WFs has some really good deals if you can find them – I always get annoyed when people think it’s too expensive because it’s not that bad. The Annie’s bunnies in Sour Cream and Onion are good but they get your fingers all powdery :-/

    I LOVE your dinner!!

  2. What a great way to start your week! I am seriously impressed!! (And very proud of you!)

    I have GOT to find some of this Voskos yogurt! I saw it on Jenna’s blog, too. It has some serious protein, girl. That’s awesome. I really like both the Oikos and Chobani, but now I’m dying to try Voskos.

    Your dinner looks amazing. I have been craving good, filling, simple foods lately and it looks like it really hit the spot. And yay for fruit for dessert! Woohoo!

  1. Pingback: Is it really Day 4? « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

