Weekend product reviews

I ate this yogurt on Saturday before going out with some friends and knowing I’d be having a late dinner. I picked this up at Whole Foods…unfortunately 1 container was $1.99 but after drowning myself in HFCS-laden Yoplait for a couple of weeks, I was ready for a healthy yogurt splurge!

Enter…Stonyfield Farms Oikos! I can’t believe this happened but I just lost my picture of the container (meh). It’s great though, for those of you who’ve had Oikos before, the container now has 10% more 🙂

I’ve had just the plain Oikos before and liked it very much, so I was interested in trying the flavors too. This one is Honey and I decided to pair it with 3/4 cup of multigrain cheerios for a hearty snack.

yogurt

 

 

When it comes to Greek yogurts, Oikos hits the mark for me on both taste and consistency. I like it when yogurt is so thick that you can hardly stir it (I only had to with this one to mix in the honey at the bottom). Plus it felt great to give my body more natural and wholesome yogurt without all the added (artificial) ingredients. YUM!

 

Another new product I tried over the weekend was a new Kashi bar! They were also on sale at Target, so I picked up a box of a new (to me) flavor, which is right up my alley…Pumpkin Pie! It’s one of the new “TLC Fruit & Grain bars”:

kashibar

 

This bar was unbelieveable! The only downside was the sticky, pumpkiny layer on top made my fingers a little sticky while holding. It tasted great, not to sweet and I could really taste the pumpkin so even if I didn’t know it was made from real ingredients, I would think it was! I should’ve taken a pic of the bar itself instead of just the package, but to give you an idea…its sort of like a granola bar (just lightly sweetened toasted grains) covered with a thin layer of pumpkiny goodness on top. Don’t worry, I have a whole box so you will be seeing them again before too long. I would like to keep bars to a minimum though, during CFW at least. The cool thing (of many cool things) about this bar is that even though it was sweet and rather dessert-like, it only contains 8 grams of sugar and 120 calories!

I love trying new products! 🙂

 

** The Product Reviews page has been completely updated, check it out!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 24, 2009, in products and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Fun new products!! I actually just bought Oikos so I’m excited to try it now 🙂

  2. Try http://www.MixMyGranola.com — custom-made granola any way YOU like it. We would love to be featured.

    Cheers,
    Matt

Leave a Reply

