Am I being too lenient?

It’s Day 3 of Crap Free Week here folks and seriously, this is not hard at all. I know the challenges are coming…I’m having dinner out tonight and Friday, but still I am not worried because it’s easy to find things that are Crap Free (according to my guidelines) at most places, with the exception of high sodium.

So what’s the deal? Am I being too lenient? I’ve checked others blogs who are being a little more restrictive than I am and they are struggling, saying this Crap Free Week is a chore. Most of them gave up carbs and caffeine, which, if I had too, I would be a raging you know what right now. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Since I only drink one cup of coffee per day (not from Starbucks) I didn’t see the need to give up caffeine. I’m avoiding diet sodas which will help cut back on extra caffeine I might not have realized I was consuming. And since I am limiting myself to ONLY whole grain carbs, I am naturally eating less of them throughout the day but not cutting myself off completely — that’s just not realistic for me at this point. But I have done the first phase of the South Beach Diet before, which I’ve chronicled on this blog at one point or another, and even that was pretty easy for me.

It’s only 7 days, so I’m not making any exceptions. I picked this week for a reason…no parties or birthdays or anything to celebrate this week. Those times will come again and because of what I have (re)learned from this week, I will be ready for them. I also picked this week because it will commence with Monday, March 2 which will be a great day for me to weigh in and see how the month of February left me numbers-wise. I’m still comfortable with my weight, but I am hopeful that this Crap Free Week (which could become a crap free lifestyle) will help me maintain or perhaps even lose a little because I’m ridding my body of the toxins I’ve built up. Because I am in a more comfortable frame of mind (as long as the number stays the same or goes down, I’m ok)ย I have considered going back to my weekly weigh-ins just to hold myself accountable and not let myself go crazy for a couple of weeks and then try to make up for it the next two. Does that make sense? Guess we’ll see!

Thanks everyone for the support, I really feel good about this and your kind words have helped encourage me too! ๐Ÿ™‚

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on February 25, 2009, in challenges, changes. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I don’t think you’re being too lenient at all! If you had restricted yourself even more then you may not be viewing it as positively as you are. This just proves that you could continue eating like this past one week. Like you said, challenges will be coming up but now that you’ve seen that this can work I think you will find the challenges to not be as difficult ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. No, you’re not being too lenient, you’re m.o.t.i.v.a.t.e.d. And it’s going to pay off, just watch!

Leave a Reply

