Crap Free Living starts today

mondaybreak

I really debated over what to have for breakfast this morning, but the more I thought about it, the more I just wanted a simple bowl of cereal. Above is 1.5 cups of Honey Nut Cheerios with 1 tbsp flax sprinkled on top, plus 1 medium banana and 1 cup of skim milk. The husband isn’t using milk for cereal this week, so I was able to go down to skim from 1%, yay. It’s only a 20 calorie difference per cup but hey, every bit adds up. I had a cup of black coffee when I got to work. Its weird, but there was a time when this would’ve tasted bitter to me, in here in just the last couple of weeks, a cup of black coffee has become quite pleasing, even though I drank two sweetened beverages over the weekend.

Today is the first day I’m no longer officially under Crap Free Week rules. But I found through my experiment that this was not an unreasonable way of living. I wasn’t restricting anything good for me, only additives and chemicals that I can do without. I still enjoyed a cup (sometimes two) of caffeine but from black coffee and plain teas, no sugar or artificial sweeteners or creamers added (with the exception of my two weekend Starbucks runs-one was just with soymilk though). So from here on out, the rules pretty much stay the same, only we’re now into Crap Free Living.

I have really tackled my cravings for sweets and snacks, especially at night. I make sure that dinner is very satisfying by making what I’m really craving (and having lots of stuff available to chose from) and then a small snack of either fruit, cereal or a rice cake at night, keeping most late night snacks under or around 100 calories. I have been wanting for NOTHING, I truly mean that.

I got on the scale this morning and saw 151.5 lbs. Even though I was up 0.5 for the month of March, I technically lost 2.5 lbs just last week (on Monday 2/23, I was at 154). I’m not making weight loss a priority with my new Crap Free lifestyle, its about much more than that. But any added benefit would be greatly appreciated nonetheless 😉

I cleaned out the pantry and fridge this weekend and threw together a bag of stuff to take to work because I can’t stand for anything to go to waste or in the garbage. I removed all the sugar free jello pudding and no sugar added rice pudding (which I didn’t care much for anyway) from the fridge, drink mixes (powdered, cider, hot cocoa), and a few other odds and ends from the pantry. I think I now officially have no more crap (that’s mine) in my house!

I think one thing I’m going to have some issues with is gum. I like chewing gum once or twice a day because it keeps my mouth from getting dry and gets rid of some powerful food tastes like onions and stuff. What should I do in place of this? Sugarless gum, like Extra, contains aspartame, so I don’t want to chew it anymore if I can help it. But I don’t want to pop sugar-laden higher-calorie gums or mints either. Hmm…I may just have to get back to brushing my teeth after meals and keep drinking lots of water I guess.

I’ve gotta get at least 20 minutes of yoga in today, which I think I’m going to do tonight between dinner and “24” or perhaps right before bed, as long as I choose a relaxing program and nothing vigorous that’s going to fire me up! 😉 I’ve got a 5k coming up on Saturday morning, so I’ve also got to practice running a few more times this week. But I’m really looking forward to it!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 2, 2009, in 5k, Breakfast, weight loss, yoga and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m so proud of all your accomplishments over the last week! You have truly inspired me. From your workouts and new mindset about running, to your crap free eating…seriously, girl, you are ROCKIN IT! I am doing 31 Days of Yoga, too…trying to add in something a little different, I’m kinda excited! Have a fantastic week!

  2. HOORAY! I’m glad you’ve decided to do Crap Free Living 🙂 Love the new mindset too!

Leave a Reply

