More crap free foods

Product Review: Quaker Rice Cakes – Apple Cinnamon

I got these as a snack idea from a friend at work who assured me that the first ingredient was whole grain brown rice, very few other ingredients and certainly no HFCS or hydrogenated anything. I love it when other people are conscious about the same things as me in foods ๐Ÿ™‚

I had a coupon anyway, so I purchased a package of them and tried my first one with 1/2 tbsp of peanut butter spread on top (per my friend’s suggestion). It makes for a very light and tasty snack, without being overly sweet or filling. They make a very good dessert or a snack between meals. I have also just tried them plain and they were very good. I think I had a certain idea about rice cakes from the old days when that’s what women who were dieting ate and it tasted like cardboard.

Each cake has just 50 calories, 3 grams of sugar, no fat or sodium. Now, some of the other rice cake “products” that have icings drizzled on them, you are going to find trans fat (meh). But these are safe! They even contain natural apple & cinnamon flavors, wow. I can’t wait to try some other flavors!

My friend says the chocolate ones with PB is the best! Might have to look into that ๐Ÿ˜‰ And other ways to eat the apple cinnamons…

Also, check out the pics of the Kashi Pumpkin Pie bar! I used that as a mid-morning snack on Friday and it powered me through a tough treadmill workout. I just love the Kashi products, don’t you? The layer of pumpkin on top is the best part ๐Ÿ™‚

Friday night, I did end up getting the grilled chicken salad from Impellizeri’s like I’d planned, plus 2 tiny baked mushrooms (w/cheese) as an appetizer. I didn’t even feel deprived, the salad was quite large and very filling…the chicken was warm and seasoned, so much better than lots of other grilled chicken salads I’ve had (McDonald’s, ick).

After dinner, we headed to the grocery store, then came home to watch a movie (“Hancock”…started out good, got boring and weird toward the end, had its funny moments) during which I had an apple cinnamon cake with PB and some good ol’ hot tea. I love that I seem to have control of my nighttime snacking now, its the best feeling.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 2, 2009, in Dinner, Lunch, products, restaurants, Snacks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

