Chocolate is not a snack

My lunch lasted me about 4 hours yesterday! I really think choosing to bulk up my breakfast and lunch has been beneficial. Eating more during the day does seem to keep me from going overboard at night. I know when I go lightly all day, I am ravenous at night, hello tortilla chips! 😉

When I got hungry, I dug into my Whole Soy & Co strawberry yogurt. Sadly, this wasn’t as good as I remembered…

yogurt

yogurt2

It tasted good (blueberry & cherry vanilla are my favorites though) but it was very runny and when I was done eating it, I knew it wasn’t going to work for holding me off until I could eat a snack during my evening class. It has 7 grams of protein but it just didn’t help 😦

Luckily, around 4:00, I had this to bail me out!

bar

And it worked like a charm! I suppose if I have the soy yogurt again, I need to use an add-in like nuts or cereal to give it some more power?

Dinner was another weird mixture. Apparently, I crave beans & rice on Mondays, haha…I made a cup of the Minute brown rice, topped it with 1/2 cup black beans, cooked some Italian style veggies on the side and then had two little squares of wheat-oat bread with Smart Balance.

dinner

It was great!

After some housework (no, I didn’t do the dishes after all, haha), I sat down to watch the 2-hour episode of “24” this week and man was it intense! It’s pretty much one of the only shows I watch anymore, mostly because its time spent with my husband 🙂 I love Kiefer Sutherland too. Doesn’t hurt.

Around 9, I felt a snack coming on, so I made a cup of orange herbal tea and ate a piece of my Ghiradelli dark chocolate:

dessert

It was really good but my stomach needed a real snack, so a little while later, I had a Quaker Apple Cinnamon rice cake…

tuesdaysnack

That did the trick!

Before bed, I did about 25 minutes of yoga, just doing my own flow of moves that I have burned into my brain (down/up dog, child’s pose, sun salutes, tree pose, triangle, warriors, half moon, and of course Savasana) which ended up being pretty great. But its better for me to be more structured, so I think tonight I will use a DVD program again.

Hope your Monday was fabulous!

p.s. I accidentally went meat-free yesterday, haha. It’s funny when that happens unintentionally 🙂

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 3, 2009, in Dinner, Snacks, tea, yoga and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

