I ran a 5k…today!

I’m on a commercial break from watching The Biggest Loser…how cool is Rocco Dispirito? I loved watching the contestants cook healthier versions of fast food meals (pizza, burgers, burritos). And Rocco was right when he said, now that they know how to make the dishes the healthy way “there is no reason to eat that stuff ever again!” So true. No more crap!

Anyway, I headed over to the gym after work today but my partner never showed up. I hope she’s okay! But, I pressed on, because Lord knows I trained by myself last year and ran 4 races by myself last year. So I know I can do it. I’m the pusher, not the pushee, haha.

I walked for 4:30, when I reached 0.25 miles, then I ran an entire mile to 1.25, and then walked for 1 minute, which brought me to 1.30.I decided at that point that I wanted to do the entire 5k distance!

I started running again at 1.30 and ran another mile to 2.30. Then I walked for about a minute and a half, reaching 2.40. I knew to hit the 5K mark (3.1 miles), I was going to have to run for 1.10. I decided to use the Galloway method, like many bloggers do, and I ran for 4 minutes and walked for one, repeating that a couple of times. When I got to the last 0.10 of a mile, I decided to sprint at 6.0 mph (which is a sprint to me now, used to be my regular pace).

I reached 3.5 miles in 46:30. Since the first five minutes was warm-up, I subtracted 0.25 from the distance and those first 4:30. That means I ran 3.1 miles in 42 minutes or a 13:32/mile. I cooled down for the last few minutes, bringing my total time on the treadmill to 50:00.

I’m pretty proud of this, especially since its the first time in a long time that I have ran 3.1 miles. It’s a little slower than I would like, but it will be interesting to see how I run it on race day (4 days to go). I know I won’t beat last years time (30:40 or 9:53/mile!) but I will still feel a big accomplishment.

Today’s workout has given me hope that I can get back to where I was someday. In fact, there is another mini-marathon in Louisville in October. Hmm…

Good night all, back to TBL!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 3, 2009, in 5k, accomplishments, running. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. CONGRATS!!! That’s fabulous – be proud 🙂

  2. good job!!! its challenging to get back to your top form, but i like a good challenge 🙂

  1. Pingback: I’m baaaack! « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

