I’m baaaack!

I just got back from my 11:30 a.m. run with my training partner, who told me at the end that I made her a bit jealous today. Why, do you ask? Because…

I RAN THE ENTIRE 3.1 MILES WITHOUT STOPPING!!

I’ve always thought, from the beginning of my “struggle”, that 80% of this was a mental block that I had about being able to run a certain distance. Yesterday, even though I took walk breaks, I saw that distance go by, knowing I had run most of it. I think that must’ve given me an extra boost because here I am ladies & gentleman, I’m back!!

I know now more than ever that as the weeks and months go by, I’ll be back to running more frequently and longer distances. I just needed to see myself do it 🙂 And so far, I have no pain (I used to get some knee pain last summer/fall).

I warmed up for 8:30 or 0.50 mile. Then, as you know, I ran 3.1, varying my speeds from 4.5-5.5 and at the end I “sprinted” at 6.0 again. Subtracting the first 8:30 and the last few that I cooled down, I calculated that I did the 5k (or 3.1 miles) in 38:30, or a 12:25/mile. Wow, check out that difference, just from yesterday!

I don’t know what my goal for Saturday is yet, other than to run the whole thing and finish it. I think under 40 minutes is a good ballpark, but I know that I naturally run faster outside than on the treadmill. A lot faster! So we’ll see…

Hope everyone is enjoying the day, the sunshine here is beautiful, I think Spring might be on its way soon, yippee!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 4, 2009, in 5k, accomplishments, running. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. CONGRATS!! That’s fabulous!! Getting your mind on board with anything is always a struggle so well done 🙂

  2. THAT’S AWESOME!! Congrats! I think a huge part of running is mental…sounds like your mind is wrapped around all the right thoughts. I’m very proud of you! Wish we lived a little closer and we could run together! And, yes, the sunshine is beautiful…yay for Spring!!

Leave a Reply

