Not exactly green

I decided to try a new version of Angela‘s “Green Monster” this morning, only I used strawberries instead of banana like I have the past few times. I also eliminated the flax because mine is milled and I think this smoothie would be better with whole flax seeds that would grind in the blender 🙂

Here’s the before…

7a652ab6d50c

And after…it came out a very odd color, kind of an “off-green” if you will, haha. Not visually appealing at all, but that didn’t stop me. I also had one poached egg (that kind of exploded) and the last chunk of wheat-oat bread with Smart Balance. Yay, no wasting!

1659a1dffb70

The smoothie tasted okay but once again it just wasn’t as sweet as that very first one I made with a very ripe banana. I want to experiment with some citrus fruit next I think 🙂 I chose to make this today because I need to get in my veggie servings early; we’re making breakfast for dinner tonight at my friend Courtney’s house. I’m making french toast (using whole wheat bread) with strawberries, someone is bringing veggie bacon or sausage, and we’re also having grits and mimosas. It’s going to be fun 🙂

Turns out my partner was sick yesterday 😦 Hope she feels better today because we’ve got another run on the schedule! I’m trying to decide if I need to do more, the same, or less than yesterday. The race is on Saturday and I fully intend to take Friday off from running, but I don’t know about the next two days. Any suggestions?

Here’s today’s agenda:

  • Work
  • Run at 11:30
  • Lunch (at my desk)
  • Work, work, work
  • Go home, cook French toast
  • Girl’s Night potluck + movie
  • Yoga + tea
  • Bed

Time to get the day started! The weather is gradually warming up here…by this weekend, and race day, it should be in the 60s-70s, woooo hoooo! Let’s hope it sticks 😉

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 4, 2009, in Breakfast and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m not a runner so take my suggestions with multiple grains of salt but perhaps tomorrow either do the same or just take it easy. Nice job on the green monster smoothie 🙂

  1. Pingback: Brown monster? « See Sarah Eat

Leave a Reply

