Keeping it up

I had a really great day yesterday and my goal for today is to keep up the good work: with my crap free diet, running and yoga that is.

Last night, I was tired, but I still managed to get in a quickie yoga workout before bed and you know what? Everytime I do that, I end up feeling and sleeping better. Coicidence? Nah. Yoga makes me feel good. Period. Thanks again to Tina for coming up with this motivating March challenge!

Let me catch you up to speed from yesterday though…before my run, I fueled up with this Whole Soy & Co blueberry soy yogurt. It was delicious! Definitely reminded me why its my favorite from this brand (tied with cherry vanilla of course). No more strawberry for me!

yogurt1

I was so pleased with my run yesterday. I think if I stay positive, focused, and realistic, I can get back to where I want to be in that area. It helps to have support and the comments I’ve received from you guys has really lifted me up, thanks 😉

Lunch was a true favorite, PB&J on whole wheat, with an orange and some veggies. I decided to do some close ups because I was tired of seeing my desk in the background, haha…

lunch1

lunch2

Okay, so here is the deal. I really like chewing gum. Something about keeping my mouth busy, plus it keeps the saliva flowing and doesn’t get dry, I don’t know…I just like it. But I have a hard time with sugar free gum because it seems like I can’t stop at one piece and pretty much 99% of sugar free gums contain aspartame or sucralose. Since I’m really avoiding artificial sweeteners more than anything (except trans fat), I chose to get some of the sugary stuff.

gum

BUT…I have limited myself to 1-2 pieces a day; usually one after lunch is a given and perhaps another if I need to get a taste out of my mouth or something like that. It’s not the best ingredients list in the world, I know that. And I definitely don’t plan on making this long term. In fact, I’m going to check out some gums at Whole Foods this weekend. Do they have it there?

That lunch kicked so much tail that I didn’t need a snack for quite a while and I had brought this bag of almonds and a cheese stick and ended up only needing the almonds. I love being intuitive!

pmsnack

Usually on Wednesdays, I’m quite hungry by the time we sit down for dinner around 7:30-8, but I was just regular hungry. I must be doing something right 🙂

Here’s the recipe for the French toast I made for me and my peeps. I hadn’t gotten to use my big family-sized griddle in forever, so I was excited!

Easy French Toast

2 eggs

2/3 cup milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/4 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

6 slices bread of choice (I used whole wheat of course)

Mix the egg + milk until well combined. Then add spices and mix again. Dip each slice of bread in the mixture coating on both sides. Then cook on each side 3-5 minutes until well browned. Enjoy!

Here’s the finished product, topped with strawberries and some veggie (soy) sausage and instant regular grits on the side!

weddinner

It was quite a breakfast dinner! I was comfortably full and satisfied after this meal and also enjoyed a nice cup of hot peppermint tea while we watched “Grey Gardens” (the documentary of the aunt and cousin of Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis) which if you haven’t seen, it’s a hot mess. Haha. It’s like you don’t know whether to laugh, cry or run out of the room afraid for your life. Those poor ladies.

Anyway, hope your guys’ Wednesdays rocked as much as mine did. Be back soon!

p.s. Out of curiosity, I have been keeping a tally on my daily calories and most days since CFW, I have stayed between 1500-1700, which is a bit less than previously, when I was clocking in around 1800-2000 most days. I think by eating things that are better for me, I haven’t been dealing with cravings or any feelings of dissatisfaction which lead to late night pantry raids. This rules.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 5, 2009, in Dinner, Lunch, recipes, running, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I haven’t had that gum in YEARS! Oh childhood 😉

Leave a Reply

