Leftovers

thursdabreak

Today’s breakfast was last night’s leftovers! I was going to save this for another day since I don’t like to eat the same things back to back, but it saved me a lot of time and it was really good, so I’m glad I did it. Everything is the same as yesterday except no grits (although Courtney did give me a package to take home with me for later, yay, thanks girl!). I seriously didn’t know I liked grits until last year. I just never tried them, I’d always heard they were bad for you. Another one of those misconceptions from my youth. They aren’t high in fiber like oats, but they do contain some vitamins and minerals worth getting. Including 45% of your daily Iron!

Here is the kind we had:

grits-plain-detail_sflb

Apparently, there are lots of other flavors, but I liked this one fine. They kind of remind me of mashed potatoes in a way only as a breakfast food 🙂 I was also pleased that even for instant, they have very few ingredients:

Ingredients

SPECIALLY PROCESSED DEGERMINATED WHITE CORN GRITS, SALT, CALCIUM CARBONATE, REDUCED IRON, NIACIN*, BHT AND CITRIC ACID (AS PRESERVATIVES), THIAMIN MONONITRATE*, RIBOFLAVIN*, FOLIC ACID*.

*ONE OF THE B VITAMINS

And the nutritionals aren’t bad either…

Nutrition Facts

Serving size 1 Packet (28g)

Amount per serving
Calories 100  
%Daily Value*
Total Fat 0g 0%
Sodium 310mg 13%
Total Carbohydrate 22g 7%
  Dietary Fiber 1g  5%
Protein 2g  
Calcium 10%
Iron 45%
Thiamin 10%
Riboflavin 10%
Niacin 10%
Folic Acid 10%
  Not a significant source of Calories from Fat, Saturated Fat, Trans Fat, Cholesterol, Sugars, Vitamin A, Vitamin C.
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs:
  Calories 2,000 2,500
Total Fat less than 65g 80g
  Sat. Fat less than 20g 25g
Cholesterol less than 300mg 300mg
Sodium less than 2,400mg 2,400mg
Total Carbohydrate 300g 375g
  Dietary Fiber 25g 30g

Anyway, back to today!

Here is my agenda for today:

  • Anatomy & Physiology class
  • Lunch
  • Work
  • Meet Jessica for run at 4:30 (probably just do 1-2 miles)
  • Meet Aleta for dinner at Taco Bueno
  • Tea
  • Yoga
  • Bed

This will be my first time trying out Taco Bueno, so I’m excited. Anyone ever been there? I’ve heard its like Taco Bell, only a little bit better. My husband didn’t care much for it, but he’s a creature of habit and doesn’t like to break out of his ordinary too often. His favorite place is probably Taco Tico, which I have to say, is pretty dang good, remembering my experience there!

Time to get to it…Happy Thursday!

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 5, 2009, in Breakfast, products, restaurants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’ve never had grits either! Sound interesting 🙂

    Have a great day!

  2. Sometimes leftovers are better than they were the night before! Looks like you have another busy day ahead of you. Have a great run!

Leave a Reply

