The new windy city

I took the day off work today because I’ve got a ton of errands to run and wanted to really rest and do some yoga before my race tomorrow. So far I’ve been to the bank, Kroger and Whole Foods. I was proud of myself, I only bought yogurt and 1 Luna bar at WF, its so easy to buy everything in there!

Sadly, I did not get to take my run outside yesterday. Even though it was very warm, the wind was so high that it made it seem kind of cool out there ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It’s still quite windy today but temperatures are supposed to hit 70!

On the treadmill (meh) yesterday afternoon, I walked for 5 minutes at 3.0-3.8, then another five minutes 4.0-4.2, then I did some run-walk intervals until I reached 28 minutes (and 2 miles). I would do 2 minutes of running then one of walking for recovery. I kept my running speed between 5.0-5.6 and walking right at 3.8.

After that I had to take a potty break (I hate it when that happens) and then I got back on, walked for 2 minutes, then ran the rest of the mile. At the end, I sprinted! I really think I’m getting better and will actually be prepared for the race tomorrow.

I cooled down walking forever after that. In total, I did 60 minutes on the treadmill and then another 5 on the recumbent bike just for fun and to use some different muscles. What a workout!

Can’t wait to tell you guys about the race! Enjoy your Friday ๐Ÿ™‚

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 6, 2009, in running, workouts. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. It’s VERY windy here too! I don’t mind it one bit as long as there’s no snow ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

