New bar + Today’s run

I knew I would be running before lunch today so I ate a lighter breakfast and packed a mid-morning snack (on non-run days, I would just eat a bigger breakfast to hold me until lunch time). I hadn’t had a bar in a while, since I am trying to reduce my dependence on processed foods, but today I made an exception.

Luna White Chocolate Macadamia

db54dda96331

30bed0aa5e30

I’m not the world’s biggest fan of white chocolate (except for when it comes to Reindeer chow, haha) mostly because it lacks the antioxidants that are found in dark and even some milk chocolate. But every now and then is okay.

I grabbed this at Whole Foods a while back because I’d heard a couple of people rave about it on their blogs. Plus I ilke trying new flavors of stuff. I used to be on a HUGE Lunar bar kick and then, once I’d tried all the flavors, I just wasn’t excited anymore. But I do get the occasional craving for one, especially chocolate — at least their bars have some vitamins and minerals as opposed to a candy bar!

Speaking of which, I was reading through the list and I couldn’t help but notice. No Vitamin D! Hmm. Does anyone with more vitamin knowledge know why that might be? It contains 35% of daily calcium. Isn’t this the bar for women? WOMEN NEED VITAMIN D!

Anyway, stepping off the soap box, this bar was pretty good. It didn’t taste quite like the rice krispie treat I had expected but I liked it enough that I would buy it again. I want to try the Clif version now too, which I hear even more great things about.

~~~

I met Jessica at the gym this morning and decided I was going to run somewhere between 3-5 miles. The training schedule we’re using called for 5, so we decided to do five miles even if we had to walk some of it.

I warmed up for 5 minutes, going just a little over 0.25 mile and then I stepped it up. I started at 4.5 and went up to 5.5 gradually and then back down a bit when I felt I needed to. I could really feel this run in my shins today, something that hardly ever happens. But this is the first time I’d been on this particular treadmill since the race on Saturday and my new shoes. The tread I was on yesterday was in way better shape and actually had some spring to it.

When it comes to indoor running, can a treadmill make or break you?

I also think shoes matter. I finally got some new ones!

4b784ae6ed23

Asics Gel Kanbarra

I don’t only buy one brand of shoes, I just try on a bunch and pick whatever feels the best to me and is decently priced. My last pair were Adidas, so it looks like I’m moving up in the alphabet! I’m blessed to have a neutral foot strike, so no need to correct pronation. I do prefer the cushiony shoes though. The best way to determine this is to go to a running store (like we have Fleet Feet and Ken Combs here) and have them watch you walk or run on a treadmill to see how your foot strikes the ground. Having the right shoes will make your life a lot easier, trust me.

I ended up running for 3 miles straight and then I walked for a bit to drink some water and cool down my body temp. I get really hot when I run (heart rate must’ve been high) and the hot gym doesn’t help. After I finished the rest of the mile, I began jogging again and managed to run another mile.

So in total, I ran 4 miles and walked 1.33 (half was warm up/cool down).

Time: 70:00

Distance: 5.33 miles

Calories: 500’ish?

I really need a heart rate monitor, have I told you lately? Hah. That needs to go on the birthday list I guess. I’ve got a couple months.

Afterward, I stretched a TON. Hopefully I’ll have enough energy to do a quick yoga download before bed tonight.

Anyway, I feel really good about things. I have a week and a half until the next race, so 6.2 miles doesn’t seem so unrealistic now. My knees and feet hurt a bit and I’m awfully tired now but I think that’s just my food digesting. I’m looking forward to girl’s night tonight, I may have to show up in some comfy pants 😉

Tomorrow I’m planning on just 3 miles! Enjoy the rest of your day.

About Sarah Frankel

I am 29 years old and a resident of Louisville, Kentucky. I've been married to my husband Josh for 6 years and we have a 5 year old beagle named Suzie. Four years ago, I changed my eating and exercise habits, dropping 70 pounds and gaining an entirely new life. I took up running in September 2007 and became vegan in October 2009. I am constantly striving to improve my life so that I can live it to the fullest! I hope you will join me on my life journey.

Posted on March 11, 2009, in accomplishments, running, Snacks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. OH wow that sounds like a great run!!!! great job! ohhh I have polar f6 and I never leave home without it lol…I like to know exactly what I am burning whenever I workout =)

    I wish I could run as long as you =( I have planter fasciitis and I had to stop my morning jogs but I am hoping to start up again VERY soon but for now I powerwalk with jogging here and there.

    Great job!

  2. GREAT RUN! And coming from a dedicated Asics-girl, welcome to the club! Hope you can stay! teehee

    And you know I have a love/hate relationship with my treadmill! 75% of the time I LOVE it because scheduling and weather gets in the way too much. 25% of the time I hate it and crave an outdoor run like nobody’s business. Everybody’s different!

  3. Fabulous run!! The Clif WCMN is SO MUCH better than the Luna – you will fall in love and want to marry it 🙂

  4. Love your new shoee! I don’t stick with one brand either – you never know!

    Good run too!

    Someone told me that a Polar F6 is a good HR monitor and it tracks calories burned – haven’t checked it out though.

Leave a Reply

